The Heroine’s Journey of Chiara Trevisan

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Whether I perform in the street, as La Lettrice Vis-à-vis (The vis-à-vis Reader) or the tamer of Valentino’s Flea Circus, it doesn’t matter, I love to have a chance to listen to people and give them something back “bespoke”. To meet the audience one-to-one is a challenge and a privilege.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Reading a book that I like, hugging those who I love, eating something that I taste.

What is my greatest fear? To not be understood, or to be refused for what I truly am.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Inopportune self-sabotage skill and loss of control

What is my greatest extravagance? I can bring a touch of class in a common environment or a casual and unconventional attitude in a formal situation. I am a flexible and unclassifiable presence.

On what occasion would I lie? It happens very rarely. For the benefit of someone else (and I could never reveal the lie), or for my own good (confessing almost immediately).

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? It is very low. Rather than role models, I relate to mentors, people who collaboratively feed me with me with ideas, behaviours, ways of living and practicing the profession. I prefer the process instead of the judgment.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The promotion and distribution of my works. When people ignore me or, worse, spend a lot of time telling me how good is my idea, how original and beautiful is the stage and the performance, but still refuse to be part of it, well this is extremely confusing and frustrating for me.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? In the street, performing the reading-conversation of La Lettrice Vis-à-Vis, every time I saw I was able to offer a different perspective, an unexpected and productive point of view for my guests about their situations. All just by listening to them and answering with a page of a book.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be stronger, more persistent, more self confident and not only stubborn, sometimes, in my work. Calmer, lighter, thoughtless in my personal life.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To have always created and proposed something personal, distinguishable, original and extremely consistent. People who take part of the performance with me openly recognize honesty in my practice, agreeing to play on par with me, to give and give back.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The streets in the centRE, the squares, the public space crossed by common people. A great scenario to take inspiration, information, suggestions.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love to eat in an indian restaurant in San Salvario, always cosy and satisfying. And I like to drink a beer with my friends in Piazza Santa Giulia, the market square that becomes an open air meeting point in the evening.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My English boyfriend, who takes every opportunity to suggest to me something different, to practice a new activity, eat a new food, read a strange book, start an adventure, get out of my patterns and overcome my limits. Who thinks differently from me and is not afraid to experiment with anything.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? With colleagues of other disciplines, languages and attitudes (preferably women, but not only), whom have made a personal research and found their own coherent path. Partners to increase my skills, share my competences and see in how many ways it is possible to develop a one-to-one relationship, performing in the public space.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Give back through a small collection of “images” in narrative form (poems, short dialogues and monologues, short stories) a selection of significant, bizarre and inspiring meetings that happened whilst working as an unconventional street artist.

How can you contact me?

Chiara Trevisan (Turin, Italy) lalettricevisavis@gmail.com http://www.lalettrice-vis-a-vis.com

http://www.circodipulci.com

Leave a Reply

