The Heroine’s Journey of Eliza Hołubowska

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love some kind of freedom in my work, that I can create my world. When I dance I can be who I want, I can feel what I want, I can hide myself or I can show my real emotions.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of perfect happiness is being in a harmony with each other, being true, and doing what I love.

What is my greatest fear? disability, serious illness

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? sometimes because of the lack of self-confidence I give up ambitious plans, what I later regret of course.

What is my greatest extravagance? I don’t know… I like vivid colours of clothes or hair, what is extravagant for some people. For me it is not. I feel comfortable when I’m colourfull. It gives me an energy. I don’t do this on purpose, because I like to shock or something.

On what occasion would I lie? I’m trying not to lie. I hate liers. I lie only when I don’t want to hurt anyone, but I don’t take it as a lie. It’s more like a concealment.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? The childhood has great influence on the future life. The kind of circumstances human has been brought up. For me it is very important in life and work to be honest, to be devoted to all what I do, and to love people

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? For this moment I feel sad because we have problem with the money for our art. I know that it is everyone’s problem, but I feel that I cannot do step forward I want to do more and more but I see that I have to stop my ideas or I am forced to do only little steps. I dislike that I have plenty of things beside my work, at the time when I want to focus on the real stuff that I would love to do. It consumes all my energy.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Every time when I’m on the stage I’m happy. I have a lot of happiness. When I started my work, I had the possibility to be on the greatest festivals in Poland, what was a big distinction. First tour to Spain with my company, first co-production with the theater in Germany, and of course every well played performance.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more brave. I have a plan but I am a bit scary to start. Sometimes I think that I’m lazy. The second dream is that I would like to find the golden mean between my private life and work, because now I have a problem with this.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I have two groups in my dance company. We are like family . This is very important for me to have good atmosphere in work. I think we are strong groups and I feel that we are still in progress. Even someone goes to do ones own art we are still in a good relationship.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Gryfino. This is the town next to the German border. We have an unique crooked forest here. This is an amazing place. I created there a few photo sessions and I have an idea of performance there. I love my stage. It’s the space where my ideas are born and my mind is open.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? We have a nice and friendly restaurant WENECJA. There is really good menu. Sometimes I go there only to take a cup of coffee. I really like to sit there and rest.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband is graphic designer and photographer. We cooperate and he supports me in everything what I do. I’m really thankful for that and I feel lucky.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I have a lot of people who I want to work with. Now I’m trying to work with the actor. I am trying to mix our energies. I’m open and I feel that I can learn more and more so I will try to keep growing up and learning from those who are better than me.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Now I’m working with the Uckermarkische Theatre in Schwedt in Germany. I’m a choreographer and dancer in the new production AMORE MIO DAS FIGAROKOMPLOTT. I am starting the Polish- German musical production with the youngsters soon. I also organize the festival of small movements’ forms, which is called JESIENNA SCENA TAŃCA. It is November. So I have a lot of work.

How can you contact me?  elaza@epoczta.pl

Leave a Reply

