The Heroine’s Journey of Emilie Bosworth-Clemens

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The freedom to deeply  follow my creative whims and explore my inner world, and get paid for it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To be left alone with my vision. To have a stable enough life to fully immerse myself in my work without worry.
What is my greatest fear? That the “playing field” will change drastically- I don’t enjoy adopting new technology, yet know I will have to.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My tendency to have OCD/obsessive habits. A blessing in many ways to my work, but often torturous when my hands are forced to be idle, I struggled with hair pulling till only recently.
What is my greatest extravagance? Even though I am a clothing designer I come from a modest thrift store shopper background, so wearing designer clothing feels like I’m spoiling myself. Call it puritan guilt.
On what occasion would I lie? I am not a big fan of lying, but perhaps to ensure the outcome of a situation is for the greater good, maybe to protect someone, it would have to be altruistic.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I am very interested in archetypes and personalities. I would never follow the path of another person footstep for footstep, but I am very eager to learn what qualities of a person allowed them to clear the hurdles in their life and career. In this way female artists in the generation preceding mine showed me that it was possible to be successful when I was young.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? People who don’t take the time to understand exactly what I do and demand things from me. I am not great at balancing unpredictable communications with so many people all around the world and feeling “safe” enough to create so this is one area I had to enlist some help to avoid burnout.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am the happiest when I am conducting exciting and productive research and then putting it to use, such as finding new materials and figuring out how to get them to work for me. I love creative problem solving and gaining new skills.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I can be a bit force-full, my strength and weakness. I tend to be unfiltered and outspoken, and have a hard time relaxing until the task at hand is done. I mean well.
What is my greatest achievement in work? To have built my small empire in 5 years with no start up money, no background or training in business, with materials I found in the trash and a skill I taught myself. To have hung on for dear life with no backup plan until it worked.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Probably my studio honestly, as it’s the stronghold of my creativity. If I had to name someplace else then the Fort Pitt museum, because it deals with one of my favorite and most visually inspiring historical time periods, the french and indian war.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In my back yard around an open fire.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Probably my assistant Jennifer who answers my emails, I think she is probably my all-time biggest fan, so hiring her was a no-brainer- no one knows more about what I do. But also Alana Rose, our clothing lines grew up next to each other in a way that was really beautiful and organic.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? Myself. It’s all about knowing your own strengths and weaknesses~ I have tried collaboration but solo suits me better, perhaps I will find an exception someday.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Increasingly involved designs, incorporating new materials. Can’t say much 😉
How can you contact me?
Leave a Reply

