The Heroine’s Journey of Beckie Ann Galentine

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Many individuals wake up and put on a new outfit and fresh face for the day; I am able to be twenty different people in one week – be it a concert photographer, an upbeat wedding photographer, an easy going senior portrait photographer or a fashion historian. I am an acrobat of personas, in which all of them beam the facets of the prism that I am.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Nothing is more daunting to me than boredom; the less I find myself idling, the more I feel truly happy. Completion of a task or challenge is my cue to seek more adventure; a world where I have exciting things thrown at me consistently is my ideal.

What is my greatest fear? Feeling humiliated or embarrassed is my foremost fear; when I was around nine I performed a dance routine in front of a large crowd and made an error and nobody let me live it down until I graduated high school.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Being a perfectionist is often times a curse; I procrastinate, not out of laziness but the sheer reluctance to begin something that I may never feel exactly fits the mold of what I imagined. I often wish days held more than twenty-four hours but then I may find myself over-editing and revising myself too much, losing the natural feel of what I love to do.

What is my greatest extravagance? I am nothing short of a bag lady, I carry as many photographic mediums as I can so I have as many possible outcomes for every shoot that I do available. At the end of the day, the contents of my backpack include at least four cameras ranging from instant, 35mm and 110 film to my precious digital devices.

On what occasion would I lie? Four words, “I am almost done!” Not a lie, per se, but there is no project on my list I feel as though I’ll fully complete due to my obsessive attention to detail.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I look to my role models on multiple dimensions – more than their accomplishments I like to gather inspiration from their hardships, knowing that someone out there managed to rise up from a struggle. It gives me the motivation to not cripple myself with ailments or find justification on days where I feel as though I just can’t – there is always room to work harder.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? In my work – along with many other experiences in life – I dislike when things are reduced to monetary gain or loss. I find those that mimic others seeking only wealth fall short of the very important contentment derived from creation with or without a price tag.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? It fluctuates; I think every year I feel as though I’m the best I’ve ever been so I guess the present. As long as I’m working and finishing projects actively, I am happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I wish I could view everything I did from the eyes of the people I work with; I make excuses before I give people a change to judge or apologize for not being perfect often.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Instead of any one singular event, I think my greatest achievement is being able to balance everything from photography to shipping orders by myself. There are definitely sleepless nights, but it is well worth proving to everyone that I can do anything.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? There’s a small early 1900s cemetery just a few blocks from my home that I spend a lot of time in; many stones are from immigrant workers with interesting stories and styles on them. It’s very peaceful and easy to lose track of time there – especially with the wildlife to keep me company.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Teerak Thai, hands down. The atmosphere is relaxing and authentic and I never grow tired of the Pumpkin Tofu Curry!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? To narrow this down to one person would be criminal but my mother is the one who not only celebrates my successes but hears me out when something doesn’t go as planned. The people I get to collaborate with are a blessing but it’s a real strength to be behind the scenes seeing the things that aren’t out in the viewers’ eyes.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? This is tough because I found myself passing people and imagining them in photographs; I love when people ask me what I am doing and end up working with me on a whim in the same day.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?My vintage boutique is in the works of having a physical location for the upcoming holidays and there will be an open studio for anyone to morph into a pin-up model for a day. I love enabling individuals to see their inner glamour.

How can you contact me? http://www.beckieanngalentine.com or a Ouija board, whatever is convenient.

Leave a Reply

