The Heroine’s Journey of Olivia Ebeling

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Without a doubt the variety. As a journalist, I get to meet lots of fascinating characters and have visited some incredible places.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Getting up to mischief with my loved ones. Being silly and laughing your heart out during a random adventure is the best feeling ever.

What is my greatest fear? Snakes. I was not pleased when I found out that the buggers have managed to travel from the Spanish mainland to Ibiza, where I currently live, by way of sleeping in imported olive trees. Yes. Really.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am a MASTER at procrastinating and I hate it! A short attention span and a certain degree of laziness are the things I continuously aim to… Sorry, what?

What is my greatest extravagance? From fashion to good food, when I really love something I will somehow justify to splash the cash – and this also extends to work equipment like laptops to cameras. ‘I might get hit by bus tomorrow and then what would happen to my money?’ is a frequently used excuse.

On what occasion would I lie? As a true Sagittarius, I don’t feel comfortable with dishonesty but, of course, a little ‘white lie’ to spare someone’s feelings is acceptable.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? In my personal life, I don’t really follow anyone’s example as I have always been very independent and hated it when teachers or family members tried to tell me how to behave. But I have always admired my grandmother’s strength, and my mother’s support has encouraged me to take risks. At work, I have learned a lot from my former boss Jess Markwood, who combines an amazing creative mind with sharp commercial thinking and who has always made me feel appreciated and valued. I also admire my blogger friends Bonnie Rakhit of The Style Traveller and Nadia El Ferdaoussi of The Daily S’Elf for turning their passion into inspirational publications with their infectious personalities, cleverness and drive.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The irregular and long hours can wreak havoc on my personal life, but I guess journalism will never be a 9-5 job, so I try to work around that as best as I can.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I get to report about events or destinations I’m passionate about, and I get to bring along a friend, it’s pretty unbeatable. In the past this has included Bestival, London Fashion Week, a pretty raucous skiing trip… And now at Essential Ibiza, I get to work at favourite places on the island like Agroturismo Atzaro, Pikes Hotel and Babylon Beach.

If I could, what would I change about myself? My affinity for procrastination.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Setting up my own website and blog, http://www.tribemagazine.co.uk, from scratch and watching it grow all the way until I got my first paid brand collaboration makes me feel proud. And looking back over the sheer scale of content we have produced over the summer for Essential Ibiza is quite unbelievable!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? London, where I have been based for the last eight years, is so versatile and culturally rich it’s a constant source of inspiration. I love going for a walk in Hampstead Heath or have a look around the markets in Camden. And in Ibiza, immersing yourself in the beautiful nature allows you to clear your mind and recharge.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In London, my friends and I go to this amazing sushi place called Zen Mondo in Angel – it’s Nobu quality at very decent prices. In Ibiza, I love Babylon Beach for their delicious food and the laid-back atmosphere and Coricancha for the pretty views over Salinas and the outstanding cocktails and ceviche.

Who is my greatest partner in crime? This was my first summer living and working in Ibiza and while I can honestly say that the whole Essential Ibiza crew is awesome, this title goes to our head of photography, Isa Flores a.k.a. La Skimal. We often cover events together and she never fails to make me laugh, even if it means I get food thrown at me. As a true local, she has also taught me some very useful Spanish (murcielago) and shown me some great secret places on the island. And when it all gets too mad, we’ve got each other’s backs!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I am still waiting for the opportunity to interview The 1975, my favourite band. I’m not sure my level of obsession wouldn’t turn this into a disaster though… Over the winter, I am open to collaborations or freelance projects with fashion, lifestyle and travel brands

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Having spent the last six months experiencing my first season working for Essential Ibiza, I’m looking forward to dedicating time to my own project Tribe again in the winter months.

How can you contact me? Email: olivia.ebeling@gmail.com

Socials: @liv_tribethemag

Leave a Reply

