The Heroine’s Journey of Erika Gioiosa

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The power to express myself without limits through my painting style and sharing with other people.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I believe to be in harmony with myself, so I can be in harmony with the others. I’m happy with very simple things, when I read a good book, watch an old film close to the fireplace with a cup of milk and honey, with my family and with a storm outside.

What is my greatest fear? Miss my reference points, like my family, my friends, my house.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I think to be too much unselfish, I deplore that because in this way I risk forgetting myself.

What is my greatest extravagance? I’m very friendly but sometimes I want to be totally alone, for example when I travel. I love looking out the window, I would do it for hours and hours.

On what occasion would I lie? Honestly never! I can’t lie and when I did it in the past I had to say the truth straightforward. You would see on my face that I’m lying.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My great teacher of painting to the Academy of Fine Arts. I love him because he is very independent and nonconformist. I learned so much from him. He used to say: “We have to be uniques”! I don’t want to conform to the trend too much, to think of ways, to the opinions. I don’t want to compromise. Growing up I’ve started to follow his advice more and more, I understood many things, and I feel better about myself. I think this is one of the ways to make a contribution to the world.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I don’t like it when my work is not seen as useful because it doesn’t produce essential goods. I think that my mission is also to get better and enrich life of people with the soul of my art. In the same way I don’t like when they ask me about my work: “What does it mean?”. Art does not have to have meaning.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I made a series of works to a customer of mine in Italy. She was a little bit exigent and it wasn’t very easy collaborate with her, but day by day the relation became really nice, we understood each other and it was born a beautiful friendship. From that experience I learned a lot of things more about my art, the way to get in touch with the customers and I’ve more self-confidence.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’m a very sensitive and empathic person, I would like to change that because sometimes it effects my work and it could happen that this trait takes away the concentration on my art.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I moved from a small town in southern Italy to the UK a year ago. I’m looking to continue my work as a painter here in this country with new sensations and inspiration. The magnificent place is giving me a lot. It’s not the first time that I moved from my homeland, I have traveled a lot and studied outside, but this time is final and represents a challenge for me.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The rock slope of the mountain where my house is located in my village in Italy, the carpet of grass under the oak tree in my garden. The magnificent nature of the Gower here in Wales.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I haven’t a favourite place, I like changing. However, since I moved to Wales I’ve discovered how burgers can be good. Although I prefer pasta!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Simone my partner. He is my best fan and my advisor. He supports me in times of trouble and enjoys my success .

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I’d like to work with some interesting art gallery and do also a performance with them. I’ve never done a public performance, so I’m very curious.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I started a new series of abstract paintings. I have painted figurative subjects until the last period, but I want take again a theme that I really love since the academic period. I think it’s the right moment to make abstracts again. This is my nearby project.

How can you contact me?

Write me on: erikagioiosa@gmail.com

http://www.facebook.com/Erika-Gioiosa-Art-Studio

 

 

Leave a Reply

