The Heroine’s Journey of Gwendolyne Hawk

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Being free to do what I want, to not have to go over my ideas with someone else and just do what feels right. I start every day knowing that I have no pressure from others when it comes to my creative goals… and that is something I value greatly.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A nice home, a haven for myself and my family. Enough money to support the ones I love and a fundament that is good enough to live through troubles that life may bring 😉

What is my greatest fear? Well I guess being alone in all that… I know that I have support and love from my partner, my friends and my kids and this is the most comforting feeling ever. Take that away from me and i am lost.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I am like a fire, passionate over the things I do and something that I wasn’t always able to do and sometimes still struggle with… but I am learning to pull through things and I manage. Probably also my will to fight and learn.

What is my greatest extravagance? I must say that is most probably my mental illness. 15 years ago I was diagnosed with a borderline personality disorder that makes living with me and also the tasks that come my way a lot harder. It makes me unbearable at times but it also pushes me in some way because I try to work with it and against it.

On what occasion would I lie? I don’t know exactly… I guess I would lie to protect my family and myself or to save me from drama and troubles. I try to be as open and honest as I can but everybody fails at that sometimes.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I am influenced greatly by my own story and the story of my ancestors. I have a very close relationship with my Grandmother and she always inspired me to a great deal. Not because she is extraordinary or special but more because she always wanted more for her life she wanted to become herself and never was able to get there fully due to her life circumstances. Now she suffers from Altzheimers and it is really painful to watch. I kind of feel like I owe her…

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Probably the part where it comes to sales. I am not good at putting a price on something, I am not good at trying to convince people to buy stuff, it feels weird and not as natural as creating but I know that it is neccessary to make ends meet. I try to be as creative as I can with my marketing but sometimes I get to my boundaries.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I guess when I finally realized that I can now do what I wanted to do for so long without the fear to not survive on it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? This one is easy… I want to wake up one day without having to feel the burden of my mental illnes. I want all the characteristics that were born within this illness to go away. I want to feel how it is to not be in this state… I want to feel how normal feels.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Pulling through. Going Steady and making this thing work.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Like everywhere I go… the woods. I have a wonderful forest nearby where I go to calm down, get some air and get inspired. Give me a camera and a forest and I will be a happy inspired girl

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I actually love the simple running sushi place we have here… it is called Sakura and it is freaking fantastic. 🙂

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I think those would be my partner and my kids. They help me through everything, they help me with my work, and they are my hardest critics. They support and love what I do to great length and without them this wouldn’t have been possible at all especially because they help me through my rough patches and take my hand and enjoy the success with me when it comes.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I love dark arts and I love the people that are trying to make their art into a business no matter how hard it is to get to the point of making money in an alternative genre. So what I wish is to work together and cooperate with as many of them as possible. I think cooperation is the key for us and will enrich our lives greatly.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am working on an idea that involves Candles, magic and the work of some amazing artists… I don’t want to say too much but it is going to be pretty awesome 😉

How can you contact me?

http://www.ancienthearts.de

Instagram: @ancient_hearts

https://www.facebook.com/AncientHearts/

gwen@ancienthearts.de

Leave a Reply

