The Heroine’s Journey of Linda Schumm

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In performing: I love the diversity. Not one performance is the same. I train a lot to be able to perform my act, after that it’s very rewarding to perform it and give the audience a special time.
In teaching: I love it when I can get children excited to work hard for tricks which are not easy to learn. It’s amazing to see the kids grow in there physical and social abillities.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To see something succeed, which I found very difficult to do and worked hard to get.

What is my greatest fear? That if I work hard for something and it’s important to me it doesn’t work out the way I want. For example, I’m sometimes scared to get turned down for not being a good enough aerialist.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I wish that sometimes I could focus more on one particular project. Sometimes I take on a lot at once and there are not enough hours in the day to give all the projects the time I think they deserve.

What is my greatest extravagance? I am an optimist. It makes things much easier to do, when you’re approaching it positively.

On what occasion would I lie? I never lie. But I never really was in the position where I had the feeling I had to lie about something.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Evgeniya Kalugina. She is an amazing artist and teacher who makes the impossible possible and works very hard to get what she wants. She inspires me with her work and personality.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Because most of the time I perform solo acts, the time around the shows can be a bit lonely.

When and where was I the happiest, in my workThere is not one particular time in my work where I was the happiest. Always when I’m on stage or after a performance I feel amazing and happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? If I could chose something, I would like to be more flexible in my body.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Im most proud of the fact that I have my own business and that it’s going very good! A lot of people didn’t think it was possible to make a living out of circus. But here I am!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Codarts Circus Arts Acadamy. It’s the school I graduated from, and where I still train. There are so many great circus artist training there, it’s very inspiring to train among them.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favourite place to eat and drink is in my own house! For my work I’m away from home a lot and it’s nice to be with my housemates when I get back.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? It’s probably my housemates. They’re always very supportive and help me with everything I need. In serious times and fun times.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to work with a lot of different people. But right now I think mostly I would like to make a project with a lot of different kind of artists. It would be very nice to bring dance, circus, theater, fotography, music and many other art forms together.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Together with a musician, I’m making my own show. This is very exciting because we never made a whole show by our selves like this before!

How can you contact me?

lindaschumm@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

