The Heroine’s Journey of Marcela Morales

What is the best thing I like about my work? I like the freedom and creativity to do what I want. In addition I love to continuously develop my art and have an impact on people’s feelings.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Achieving a perfect balance in life that involves my family, love and my work.

What is my greatest fear? One is to not to be there for my family when they really need me and two is to loose my motivation and passion to create art.

What is the trait that I most deplore of myself? As a perfectionist, I am very hard on myself. A lot of the times I feel unsatisfied with my accomplishments, as things can always be improved.

What is my greatest extravagance? Collecting all kinds of art.

On what occasion would I lie? When I want to protect or avoid hurting someone.

What is the influence of role models in my work and in my life? Watch peoples, places and things on a daily basis so I can always imagine and combine things that can be applied in my work, always trusting my instincts. Frida Kahlo’s life work has been a great influence in my life. She was very different from her peers, she had great vitality, lots of ideas and she possessed a rebellious revolutionary spirit. In addition, she led a fun life that was moving and inspiring. In her paintings she leaves a footprint in one’s heart.

What is the thing I dislike the most of  my work? When I have many ideas and contrasting feelings it is sometimes hard to center and focus my art on a single one. It sometimes takes lots of trial and error to create something truly unique that I am passionate about.

If I could, what would I change of myself? I am very stubborn. However, it is a blessing and a curse because once in a while it proves to be priceless.

What is my greatest achievement work? In my personal life my kids are my greatest accomplishment. In terms of my work, I am very proud of some pieces of art that I submitted for competition and got Excellence Awards.

What is the most inspirational location in my city? I live in Monterrey N. L. Mexico. The most inspirational location in my city are the mountains that surround my hometown, especially the Sierra Madre.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city? La Nacional Restaurant-Bar. The cauliflower is incredible and the ‘Vampiro’ is the best drink.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family. They are my best fans and my worst critics.

Whom would I like to work in the future? I would like to work in the future with people that want to make an impact on society through art.  As long as a person is willing to experiment and has something to say I have something to learn from them too.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am working and looking forward to projects that benefit local artistic communities, and are supported by government funds. My goal is to promote art at a state, federal and international level by providing these communities with art workshops and classes. This will promote constant growth, which is essential for their personal and professional development and will allow them to contribute positively to society in the long run.

How can you contact me?

Feel free to reach me by email at

 marmor45@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

