The Heroine’s Journey of Mariska Jagt

What is my greatest passion? Seeing things from my clients’ perspective and striving to use my creativity to create designs that not only I, but also my clients, find moving.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Besides being in harmony with my loved ones and myself, true happiness lies in the little moments, like standing on the ski slopes early in the morning with a wide view of the mountains, ready to start an exhilarating downhill run on fresh powder snow.

What is my greatest fear? I have a very optimistic view on life, but if I had to choose, I would say that the most horrible thing I could imagine would be if one of my children were to be in a fatal accident or become incurably ill.

What do I love most about my work? When I get a sudden burst of inspiration just before the deadline, allowing me to exceed the client’s expectations even further.

What is my least attractive characteristic? As a creative person, I sometimes get lost in my own thoughts. When this happens, people around me can have a hard time connecting with me.

What is my greatest weakness? My impulsiveness combined with my enthusiasm. I can completely lose myself in something, even though it’s sometimes better to take more of a wait-and-see approach.

Are there any situations in which I might lie? I don’t like lying; however, in certain situations it can be wiser to adjust the truth just a little.

Which role model has had the greatest influence on me? That would have to be Coco Chanel— she’s a fantastic role model for me! The way she built an empire with her brand is so impressive. Her modest style, so elegant and timeless, means that the clothes and bags she designed years ago are still relevant today. Respect!

What do I dislike most about my work? As a creative person, I don’t like discussing money.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? Right now, at this moment, I feel really happy about my work. I have a passionate and very creative team surrounding me. The trust and confidence my clients have in me is fantastic, and the projects I work on are challenging. This is a great combination and it makes me hungry for more.

What does the saying ‘Passion Never Retires’ mean to me? I don’t believe that people feel less passion just because they grow older. Passion is the fire inside you. I sincerely hope the fire in me will never be extinguished!

What would I change about myself? I would like to learn to listen to my intuition and gut feelings more, to dare to say ‘no’ more often, and to have the courage to take clearer decisions.

What is my biggest professional achievement? Every new project is my biggest achievement, for the simple reason that I strive to extract the best out of my team and myself. Our office motto is: “Every day, strive to be even better than you were the day before.”

What profession would I like to have in my next life? Sometimes I tell people that when I grow up (read: when I’m older), I want to become a writer or an artist. Or both. I certainly wouldn’t rule it out. It would be a nice extension of my current activities.

Is there a particular place in my hometown where I go for inspiration? I live near the beach and I love to go there. It inspires me and gives me some of my best ideas.

What’s my favourite place to have drinks or a bite to eat in my hometown? I like the Anna Paulownaplein in The Hague, an intimate little square with lovely bars and restaurants. When I’m in Amsterdam, I also love to have drinks at the W Hotel.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, and/or partner in crime? I have a very dear friend from primary school who unfortunately lives too far away from me at the moment. Despite the physical distance, we’re still very close. I also have a strong, unconditional friendship with a friend I met at University.

Who would I like to work with in the future? It would be an exciting challenge to work with partners and clients outside of Europe, in places like Asia and New York City.

Which project am I looking forward to working on in the near future? I can’t really choose just one project, because every project we have in our portfolio has something unique and special about it. One of the projects I would love to start on is a pending project in India.

Which role model would I most like to meet? There’s no one specific role model I would choose, because you can meet inspiring people at the most unexpected moments. These encounters are the ones that leave the biggest impression on me.

How can you get in touch with me? http://www.mariskajagt.com | hello@mariskajagt.com | +31 6 50607719

Leave a Reply

