The Heroine’s Journey of Elisa Occhipinti Gelsomino

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The possibility to share with others (both children and adults) my absolute passion for books, stories and what´s behind them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Balance, art and love.

What is my greatest fear? Going blind, probably. I could no longer read, and above all I could no longer look at the world.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I take everything serious and I am not able to let things roll off my back.

What is my greatest extravagance? I always write lists (To Dos, projects, wish lists and so on) and it´s compulsory that they include three, five or ten points.

On what occasion would I lie? I could lie for love, to defend or not to hurt someone.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I have always had role models that have guided me with their examples in my personal life and professional choices. But anyway I just want to be myself.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? You have to spend a lot of time and energy in public relations and promotion.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Last week I was organizer and moderator of a literary presentation, the event was a success, and I was proud of me.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more self-confident. People often mistake my shyness for snobbery.

What is my greatest achievement in work? When the children to whom I read in public libraries and in schools ask for more books after the reading.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Schwerte, a small-town on the Ruhr-river in Germany. When I need some relax or concentration, I just go to the fields nearby the river.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The “Bistro Denkmal” is a nice all-rounder where I use to go to drink a coffee in the morning, for a brunch or a dinner with friends during the weekend.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My son Leonardo, he is 5 years old and loves books too.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to work for an Italian publisher, and being involved in the “making of” the book, discovering what happens behind the scenes.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Next year I hope to find a publisher for my own novel.

How can you contact me? On my Italian lit-blog http://www.elisagelsomino.com you can also find the links to my accounts on the main social media and my e-mail address.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s