The Heroine’s Journey of Lu Schaper

What is the best thing that I love about my work? To discover myself and have the maximum freedom to express my soul.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To be among all the people and things I love.

What is my greatest fear? To find my familiar and beloved surroundings suddenly changed beyond recognition.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? That I am too hesitant to make decisions quickly, and have too much consideration for others.

What is my greatest extravagance? Having bought a beautiful large monumental house and great studio/gallery in the center of a medieval town.

On what occasion would I lie? I hate lying – I would only lie when the truth hurts people too much.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Women who have overcome lots of problems in their lives inspire me to handle the setbacks in my own life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That I am not in full control – sometimes I have the inspiration but then I have to do other things first.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I consider a painting finished and it even exceeds my expectations.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would love to become less hesitant, more decisive, and willing to say no.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Opening my own gallery, dedicated to my own work.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The tall ships at the river front combined with the small streets leading to them.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? There are so many in walking distance of our gallery in Kampen. In Shanghai, especially the places in the old French concession, where I was born and grew up.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Family, friends, and people who collect my art.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Extraordinary people who share my passion and creativity, be it in art, fashion, TV, or movie industry.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Themed exhibitions of my work in our own gallery.

How can you contact me? By Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/galerie.lus) or email (shanghailus@gmail.com).

Leave a Reply

