The Heroine’s Journey of Vanessa Irena

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  Connecting with people from all over the world.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t know if that exists and I honestly think if it did it would actually be kind of boring? So I would have to say contentment—being in a place where you can gracefully handle whatever comes your way.
What is my greatest fear?  Death, even though I have never really believed that it is the end. Also sharks.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I have a trouble sticking with things. I want to learn and do everything so my interests jump around constantly.
What is my greatest extravagance?  Having days where I do absolutely nothing.
On what occasion would I lie? To spare someone else.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  It’s huge. I strive to see everything and everyone in my life as a teacher. I have learned so much from others and will always be forever grateful for that.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I’m constantly worried about consistency versus being formulaic.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I don’t know if there has been any specific time I can think of, but what always sticks with me the most is when people reach out to you to let you know that something you did has affected them in some way. That’s one of the most rewarding experiences.
If I could, what would I change about myself?  I don’t think I would change anything about myself because I think that wishing you were someone else is a waste of time. That said I will never stop trying to be a better version of the self I have to work with, nor will I ever stop learning and growing.
What is my greatest achievement in work?  I don’t think I’ve gotten there yet.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The subway. I love and hate it but there’s something about being crammed in a small space with a bunch of complete strangers all with different stories and completely different lives that always fascinates me. Also my own apartment. It’s my refuge and sacred space.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city?  I don’t really have a favorite, there’s so many it’s hard to choose. My newest favorite restaurant is Modern Love in Brooklyn.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband.
Whom would I like to work with in the future?  I would like to work with more women and have some plans in the works to do so.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  For a lot of personal reasons this year I have been much more focused on my spirituality than my music so at the moment I am most looking forward to setting up some classes and workshops in that vein. That said I’m also looking forward to some musical collaborations I’ve got cooking as well.
How can you contact me?
You can find links to all of my various projects at knifesex.com
Leave a Reply

