The Heroine’s Journey of Moni Grego

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Solitude, and the rare mix of pleasure, fear and lightness from my functions as an actress, writer and theatre director.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being one of my cats.

What is my greatest fear? To lose my loved ones, war, forgetting a line on stage.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Excessive energy.

What is my greatest extravagance? Swimming in very cold water.

On what occasion would I lie? To prevent people from getting hurt.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? More than an influence, I feel that the process of creating puts me into a dialogue with these beloved artists and beings.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Having to learn and memorise huge amounts of material.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I watch a play that I directed or when I read a piece that I wrote and, forgetting I’m the director or the author, I think : « That’s not so bad ! »

If I could, what would I change about myself? My nervous system.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Directing « La nuit juste avant les forêts » by french playwright Bernard-Marie Koltès on his own request, featuring Yves Ferry for whom the play had been written.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Mediterranean sea.

What are my favorite places to eat and drink, in my city? . In Sète there is this small delicious pizza place called « Chez Mélo » and a cute coffee place called « Le Barajo ». In Paris I love to go to « Le Pitch Me » which is an african restaurant very welcoming for artists, and « Le verre à pied » rue Mouffetard, a very old bistro.

Who is my greatest fan, partner in crime? My better half.

Who is my greatest sponsor ? Once upon a time it was the French Ministry of Culture, nowadays it’s Santa Claus and the tooth fairy.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? With intelligent people that put poetry, humanity, art, research and fragility of life before everything else, like Jean-Luc Godard… I would love to hire Gérard Depardieu as Vladimir and John Malkovitch as Estragon in « Waiting for Godot ».

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? A translation of « Macbeth » into French, illustrated by the great Marco CombasTopolino. Also I am in the process of writing my first novel (after having written more than fifty plays for the Theatre).

How can you contact me? Moni Grégo <mediterraneart@yahoo.fr>

Leave a Reply

