The Heroine’s Journey of Diane Pernet

What is the best thing that I love about my work? My fashion film festival puts together the things I love: fashion and film. It also provides a platform for new talent but also iconic established directors and designers.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Freedom to do exactly what I want to do because that sense of freedom is far more important to me than making piles of money.

What is my greatest fear? Not finding sponsors for my fashion film festival.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Worrying.

What is my greatest extravagance? My biggest luxury is freedom. Other than that electronic devices and coats by Dries Van Noten.

On what occasion would I lie? If I think that the truth would really hurt someone and they cannot change it anyway.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? There are people that I admire and respect, I guess that makes them role models. An example would be Mahatma Gandhi. I like one of his quotes: “If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito.”

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Same as the greatest fear, having to find sponsors for my festival. Orson Welles describes filmmaking which is a constant search for money which also applies to an independent festival. “It is like riding a tricycle through molasses.”

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? On so many occasions but I guess the most recent was working with Jean Paul Gaultier who was the most fantastic President of ASVOFF. But also working with Dries Van Noten as President of ASVOFF, Mike Figgis giving a great master class, paying a tribute to Jerry Schatzberg, and also Alejandro Jodorowsky…

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would be much taller.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Screening ASVOFF for seven years at Centre Pompidou and having genius directors like Mike Figgis, Jerry Schatzberg, Alejandro Jodorowsky, William Klein and iconic designers like Claude Montana, Jean Paul Gaultier, Dries Van Noten, Christophe Lemaire. Working with icons like Rossy de Palma and ORLAN.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I enjoy visits to the Musee Guimet and seeing performances at Musee du Quai Branly.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Les Deux Abeilles for lunch and tea, YEN for Japanese dinner, Toraya for Japanese lunch and tea at Marriage Freres on rue Cler.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Partner in crime is definitely Robb Young and I adore Emmanuel Asmar, the President of ASVOFF, they are both genius.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Pedro Almodovar.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? ASVOFF 9 April 6-9 in Paris. There is an open call for films until the end of January so if you are a director…visit http://www.asvoff.com and click submit.

How can you contact me? diane@asvoff.com http://www.ashadedviewonfashion.com http://www.asvoff.com

Leave a Reply

