The Heroine’s Journey of Cornelia Hernes

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love that in my work I can investigate and celebrate the beauty and complexity of life and humanism. I love that my work is deeply personal and that I have to utilize the full range of who I am as knowledge, emotion, body and soul have to be in some form of harmony to bring a painting successfully to life.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness is when being in the zone with brush in hand and paint flowing with ease from brush to canvas while listening to beautiful music. Perfect happiness is also being together and connected with family and enjoying each others company as well as being out in nature.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is that I don’t have enough time or energy to follow through with the many projects I wish to do. Also, given the time, commitment and sacrifices made to pursue painting as a career, I sometimes fear that my work will be overlooked and unappreciated.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? When my perfectionism channels itself as insecurity and becomes doubt and agony.

What is my greatest extravagance? buying three beautiful wool coats in one day; one black, one deep red and one grey. I can usually justify an expensive purchase as a investment if I use it as a prop in a painting, however, the coats are partly for the utility of staying warm, but mostly for being elegant during the cold and crisp winter months.

On what occasion would I lie? I would rather face the consequences than to lie, but I would lie to protect someone.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?  My parents have been essential role models and I would not have ventured onto the uncertain path as an artist without their inherent support and belief in me. They have given me the pillars of strength, integrity and kindness.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I dislike that some of the best pigments to use in oil painting can be toxic. I am very clean and organized when I paint, but I don’t know for certain weather or not some of these heath hazards have entered my body.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I am the happiest when i fall in love with my painting during the process of its creation. That is when I feel truly connected to what I do and it is usually the stage when the work becomes infused with life.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be better at promoting my work and going to the gym.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Working with something  that I love and something that never ceases to inspire and challenge and that can I continue to grow from as a person. My greatest achievements is also when my work resonates with someone else and touches their heart and mind in a meaningful way.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?
I have lived in many cities and my all time favorite place to enjoy the most delicious of meals must be at Quatro Leoni in Florence, Italy. I have yet to discover the restaurants in the New York Metropolitan area.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My husband, Stephen Bauman who is an artist also. We met while studying art in Florence, Italy and are like puzzle pieces that are very different, yet fit perfectly together. We continue to challenge, support and inspire each other and we love being together.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to continue to work with galleries and clients who enjoy my still lives, portraits, and mythological subject matters. I would love it if some of my larger scale work could find itself in a larger public space for many to enjoy.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I have a commission to paint the portrait of a magnificent soft pink ball gown and I am so looking forward to  exploring the flowery textures and brilliant sparkle of this celebration of femininity through the sculptural medium of oil paint. I also have some ideas brewing which will be depicting one goddess from Hindu mythology which resonates with me.

How can you contact me?  
On instagram: corneliahernesartwork
Facebook: cornelia hernes
corneliahernesartist@gmail.com

www.corneliahernes.com

Leave a Reply

