The Heroine’s Journey of Fulvia Ramogida

What is the best thing that I love about my work?My work is tough, subtle and exciting. To do it at best, I need to be at the same time open minded, cheerful but also very strict. Thanks to it, I get in contact with challenging new projects, abandoned locations that need a new future, enthusiast and sweet colleagues and, finally, the result of my efforts has always to be something beautiful, no matter if it is a talk, an exhibition, a presentation… This is what I love of my job and that’s s a lot!

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness does not exist and I think this is not bad. If we stopped searching for happiness we would stop doing marvelous things and appreciating the uniqueness of some special and rare moments. Perfect happiness is probably made by a series of beautiful instant and good emotions and a certain interior peacefulness.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to unconsciously hurt the ones I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Sometimes I am afraid to say no. Therefore, when I say it, because I am convinced or because I really need to do it I am very straight and a bit too much “fundamentalist” in my no. Probably because I have to convince myself. This is quite strange because usually I see nuances and I am a very good mediator, probably I just do not like exact definitions. Definite “yes” and “no” are a problem for me.

What is my greatest extravagance? Someone would say my hair which turns from pink to green to blue and violet every few weeks and a respectable number of tattoos…

On what occasion would I lie? I usually do not lie. It is something that makes me feel uncomfortable and I have a real talent to detect liars… but sometimes the truth is unnecessary or it can hurt even without a reason, so I am not for being sincere at all cost and without thinking to consequences.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I always want to experience directly, on my skin. There are some people that I admire such as the Italian Nobel Prize for medicine Rita Levi Montalcini, the songwriter Leonard Cohen, the Italian astronomer Margherita Hack, all these genius found a way to pay an homage to the beauty of life, by singing in it, studying it, recognizing limits and possibilities, They are immense examples and of course I am really small in comparison to them, but this models are always an inspiration and a reason to never surrender to banality.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I am very deceived and I really suffer when I see people that leverage on the work that others have done just for personal profit and in an unprofessional way, but the worse that I see is the big lack of pioneering spirit and capacity of investing in newness from so many entrepreneurs. Unfortunately, Italian culture does not encourage the good ones but the weasel ones and sometime it even endorses them. I really wish this could change and I try to work in this direction every day.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d rather to be more precise and less shy, but I am quite satisfied about the way I am and what I became as a 40 years old woman.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I am so proud to have worked with Organisation in Design since for around 10 years and to go on with this collaboration and with the design event format of Ventura Projects that we initiated in 2010. We have presented and promoted brave designs, crazy prototypes, hazardous ideas, abandoned locations and all this using a mix of professionalism and spontaneity, intuition and experience. I am grateful for this job which is so uncommon and which offers new opportunities to so many designers, to the postindustrial districts that we help finding a new life and to all the people that visited us during the Milan design week but also in London, new York, Berlin…

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? At now it is for sure the Magazine Raccordati, a series of amazing and beautiful warehouses in the heart of the city and which are part of an iconic building such as Milan Central Station. A new Ventura Project project is going to open the doors of these spaces which contain have been closed for years and years and which contain so many memories and an enormous potential. We will open them again and fill them with extraordinary designs in April 2017, during the next Salone del Mobile, so my heart is already there…

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The best place to drink a cocktail is for sure a tiny and curios bar called Nottingham Forrest. Each cocktail there is a master piece of equilibria, aesthetic and creativity. Something to not miss if you are looking for the perfect balance between elegance, extravagance and a friendly attitude. About eating, I love pizza and I love La Cappelletta, a genuine and very appreciated traditional restaurant in the Lambrate district, where to taste a wide variety of delicious, soft and yummy pizzas!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My daughter has always encouraged me, even when my job keeps me away from home for many hours Sometimes I think that having a more ordinary mum could be easier for her, but then I see how much she is creative, open and brave she is and I think that breathing the air of art and design can make kids really special and supportive!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to work with young people and to teach them something about the importance of beauty in everyday life… I am project manager and producer but, I graduated in aesthetics. Art and philosophy are the basis of my cultural background and I think that young people could profit a lot from knowing more about these subjects.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to work to the most beautiful light-design event ever seen before. Light is immaterial and at the same time it is the source of life, a powerful symbol, an image of freedom. Working in the event field is creating emotions and light can amaze eyes and hearts.

How can you contact me? You can contact me at fulvia@organisationindesign.com

Leave a Reply

