The Heroine’s Journey of Giada Negri

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The thing I like the most in my work is the opportunity to daydream, in fact when I am drawing, painting or creating with other materials I can magically visualize my inner images giving life to them.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I think that perfect happiness is the one you can rarely reach when you unexpectedly realize to be perfectly connected with your emotions, your body, other people and nature around you.

What is my greatest fear? I am really scared by the possibility to be forgotten: I think that giving sense to my existence is linked to the fact of letting my tracks in this world and my greatest fear is the idea that they could get lost.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? What I dislike of myself is the difficulty to keep long term relationships with friends. To do that I have to do my best because it is not natural for me: my inner self is free and continuously mutable.

What is my greatest extravagance? Since I was a child I have always been talking to every creature: cats, dogs, caterpillars, mosquitos and all other animals I have been meeting.

On what occasion would I lie? I usually donʼt lie but I could lie in a hypothetical situation in which my lies would help the world become better.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I have a few but important role models in my work which inspire me every day; they constantly live inside of me. Salvador Dalì is one of my spiritual masters and I often have oniric dialogues with him.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The thing that I like the less is the fact that when you are illustrating a book you often have to repeat the drawings of the main characters in various situations while I would prefer to differentiate my subjects.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I was very happy when I realized that I could combine my two main passions, painting and photography, in my illustrations because in that moment two apparently distinct aspects of my personality join each other.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I think that every part of our personality, even our shadow, is important and has a meaning if read in the complexity of our Self and that to have fertile and colourful aspects you also have to to pass through the darkness.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I think that my greatest achievement has to come, yet but something that really satisfacted me are for example my internationaI publications or the creation of images for important exhibition centres such as Palaexpo in Rome.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I live in Italy, in front of Como Lake and watching the lake is the thing that inspires me the most. I like it especially by night, in autumn or winter time, with rain an fog and I love all the reflections on it.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favourite place to eat and drink is a small and old pub in Como city called Merendero. It is really simple but very typical with lots of funny drawings on his menus to illustrate the different sandwiches.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest partner in crime is my inner “daimon” in the Greek sense of the term: it is like a divinity which has always lived inside of me and has always kept me to the way of art.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? One of my greatest dreams is to work with Tim Burton: I love his ghastly and mournful characters and the lightness with which he is able to describe existencial themes.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I am looking forward to work on a project which should try to unify illustration and photography. In this experimentation I would like to utilize photos of people existed in the past turning them to illustrations

How can you contact me? You can contact me writing to negri.giada@gmail.com or looking for me on Facebook. You can have a look at my works on my personal blog http://www.giadanegri.blogspot.it

Leave a Reply

