The Heroine’s Journey of Maria Devigili

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Freedom

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Living the moment without thinking too much

What is my greatest fear? Torture in all its forms

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The control mania

What is my greatest extravagance? For many people it is extravagant what I do: I’m a woman who does the work as songwriter, a woman who has passed the thirty without thinking that the procreation as the only meaning of woman’s life. But the concept of extravagance is relative. For example, for me is extravagant eat meat. Perhaps two things in particular have been extravagants in my life, extravagance in the normal and social sense of the term (but without these extravagances I would not be here to answer these questions). In both cases I’ve been 28 years: the first time I played alone in the street and when I left my “historic” boyfriend , and with him I left a city, an house, a safe work, for start all over again somewhere else.

On what occasion would I lie? I have an overdeveloped Superego, unfortunately. I can not tell lies because I am not capable. But I can omit the details for not to hurt someone.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I love the classical music (Mozart especially) but the punk also. It’s not a paradox, beauty can be anywhere. More recently, I’m following Anna Calvi and St Vincent. Lately, I’m listening Frank Zappa. I love his ability to move from a “musical genre” to another. But I think that the biggest influences are unconscious. When you love something, when you love deeply, that thing will have influence. I love Philosophy, the silent cinema, I love Hitchcock films, Kandinsky and the abstractionism. Maybe the biggest influences are extra-musicals.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The excessive importance which gives the image in the music world. The image is an important part but now it’s becoming the most important.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Once, in 2009, after a performance for a competition in a theater full of people, I received a big round of applause and someone from the audience shouted: I love you! There I felt to be loved by the world.

If I could, what would I change about myself? The insecurity, low self-esteem, but I’m working for change

What is my greatest achievement in work? Work as a musician, singer and songwriter since 2009, paying rent and bills with this work. I consider this like a great achievement.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Actually I live in Bologna but it is not the city where I was born. But Bologna has adopted me in this second life as musician. The most magical place for me is “Via Orfeo” with his small bars a bit disreputable. I lived for four years in that street, composing my first two records.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? A very special place is the Osteria del Sole in Vicolo Ranocchi, they have only drink (not water…) but you can take the food from outside. For eating I advice Osteria Rosso in Via Righi, very cheap and good.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My biggest “fan” maybe is Paolo. He lives in Rome and follows me from 2009. I played many times in the italian capital, perhaps ten times. He has missed only once!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I could tell you of the great names in music. But in the end I’d like to work with wise people, people with ideals and faith in the future, art lovers and looking for a spiritual evolution.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I just finished recording my third album (do not know yet when it comes out). Then, I have some collaborations with other musicians but it’s still all top secret!

How can you contact me? Send me a private message on Facebook

Leave a Reply

