The Heroine’s Journey of Niki Mullenders

My name is Niki Mullenders, born May 1988. I run the family business for several years; Gallery Hotel Dis & Dis/Cooking events, located at Tafelstraat 28 Maastricht, Netherlands. My task as a manager and executor is to get visitors inspired by art, food and our ambiance. Combined with coaching the team who we try to accomplish this goal with.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I have the posibility to pamper people, work with food, grow in my creativity and work in an historical building where i can get inspired by art and design. At a request, for example a wedding diner or baby shower I’d like to think along with my guests, so we can accomplich a unique event.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness is not in your hands, but you can create happiness by doing what makes you happy. Never take happiness for granted. My happiness is combining the things I love; create a warm and welcome feeling for myself, my family, friends and guests.

What is my greatest fear? I’m a controler, so when i lose control i feel fear. My greatest fear is to lose my loved ones and lose what i love to do in my work or standing still when I want to move forward.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I must have more patience, sometimes i have to rethink before i act.

What is my greatest extravagance? My choice of art can be extravagant, my personality can be impulsive.

On what occasion would I lie? When i would help someone.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My role model are my parents. For example my mother. She took care of a house hold, her children, her husband, social life, charities and had a career. She put everything First, but herself. I try to do the same for myself and my future family, as I’m pregnant at this moment.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? As a manager i must control tasks and act on them. When i have to address my staff, that’s one thing I dislike, but also I’m not always get taken seriously because of my age. Over the years i had to be more strikt because of it.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When i just started with adding the option events to the existing concept of Gallery Hotel Dis and we got a lot of requests. Also when my hard work got payed of and our team got more attached.

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I want to learn to have more patience and listen more closely.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Probably when me and my team increased the average Hotel rate from 8,5 to a 9.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I think there are a few; the citypark with the citywall in summer, teazone in autumn time, Marres in spring and the city from the highest point in winter.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I don’t want to share, but i will; Gio’s cucina. The host and hostesses are lovely, the food is fabulous and the atmosphere is romantic and intimed.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My parents, we love art, food and people and we love to experience and think out of the box. My friends and boyfriend support me also.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Now i’m working in a family business. In the future is would love to work with someone who has the same passion, but not a friend or family member. I think to create a good business, you must think business and act business from day one.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? There are many projects, but in the future I would love to have my own business combining art, antiques, retro, interior design, food and all that gives a building a that home feeling.

How can you contact me?
Business info@dismaastricht.nl  or Private at nikimullenders@msn.com

Leave a Reply

