The Heroine’s Journey of Sara Viñas

What is the best thing that I love about my work? When working in the arts, sometimes it can be very difficult because there is a lot of training envolved. However, it’s amazing to create such a powerful connection between people through your performance.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of perfect happiness is being able to accept and enjoy all the things that life brings with peace of mind.

What is my greatest fear? My biggest fear is losing someone I love or losing myself. If I’m talking about little phobias, I would say: needles!

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My biggest weakness is that I am quite self-critical and a perfectionist. Sometimes it’s very exhausting, but I am working to use it for my advantage.

What is my greatest extravagance?I love fantasy in all forms: costume parties, dressing up, make-up, fantasy-themed novels and films, amusements parks, board games, fairy tales… I am like a little girl;-)

On what occasion would I lie? I consider myself an honest person. I only lie “on the stage”, when I become a character of a play.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? If I think about my favourite female singers, I would say: Maria Callas, Pilar Lorengar, Victoria de los Ángeles, Lucia Popp, Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, Bidu Sayão, Ella Fitzgerald, Sarah Vaughan… In my everyday life, my role models could be anyone who has reached deep wisdom and peace.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? In my work as a high school music teacher I dislike apathetic attitudes. For me it is essential to work with passionate energy in order to create a fun classroom environment. In my work as singer, artistic director and theater producer, I don’t enjoy working with narcissistic and selfish people. In my opinion, it is very important to work in harmony together for a project.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There are a lot of happy moments when you work with music. It’s hard to choose only one of them. My “happiest moment” could be during a rewarding rehersal, in the dressing room before a performance, on the stage, having an idea and starting to work on it, having fun in a class, dancing, listening to music…

If I could, what would I change about myself? Today I don’t want to change anything, I am learning to accept me and love me the way that I am.

What is my greatest achievement in work? To create and direct my first little opera company: “La Soubrette”. I am really very proud of it.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? There are a lot of places I like to go in Madrid: Palacio Real, Retiro, Barrio de Lavapiés, Malasaña, Chamberí, El Prado, Parque del Capricho, Azotea del Círculo de Bellas Artes…

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I don’t know… There are also a lot of places in Madrid to eat and drink. The important thing is being in great company. But in any case, I would say for example: Yakitoro, Tandoori Station, La Mordida, Mercado de San Idelfonso, El jardín secreto, La Galette, Cafetería del Museo del Romanticismo, La pastelería del Duque, Peggy Sue, Tommy Mel’s, Miss Sushi…

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My parents.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I am open to work with anyone that has enthusiasm and with whom I can freely share knowledge and ideas.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I would like to play ukelele 😉

How can you contact me?

Twitter: @srta_corchea

Leave a Reply

