The Heroine’s Journey of Alba Careta

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The connection with the public while I’m playing. When through my trumpet I can share with them what I feel.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To be together with the people I love and taking care of them. Also to make music with my closest friends.

What is my greatest fear? To not have fun.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? To take too much care about the people that I love and not to my self.
What is my greatest extravagance? My loud laugh.
On what occasion would I lie? I wouldn’t lie, I would say half of the truth.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? In music is hard to choose only one trumpet player, I would say Miles Davis, Chet Baker, Lee Morgan, Ambrose Akinmusire… and I’m learning everyday about life with my 10 closest friends by living more and more things together, they are my reference.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  To sell myself. When I need to speak to an organizer, manager… and I need to convince them with words. Is way easier to convince them with my music.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The day that I played in the music school where I started playing the trumpet. Sharing with the teachers, students, friends, family… all the things I learnt and seeing them happy and proud of my non stop growing.
If I could, what would I change about myself? My way of laughing… is just a bit too loud.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Make the audience feel better with my music, to make them desconnect from the world for a while and give them a bit of my hope and happiness through the music.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Santa Eugènia de Relat, a beautiful place near my town with a small church and super quiet park in the middle of the nature.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city?  Definitely, no better place than my grandmother’s house to get the best menu. And afterwards some beers in the closest bar with the people I love, no matter where.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? First of all, my parents that are always ready to come to all the concerts and be at the first row. And secondly, my big friend and awsome piano player George Bereris who is always there supporting and advising me.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? I don’t want to play with big musicians, just people with who I trust. Musicians who care more about the music than their selves.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Alba Careta Quintet: trumpet, tenor sax, piano, double bass and drums. We will play all tunes of mine that I composed during the previous year. Is a very emotional repertoire made from the deepest of our hearts.

How can you contact me?  
By facebook: facebook.com/alba.arnaus
By mail: albacareta@gmail.com

Alba Careta – Trumpet player, singer and composer.

Leave a Reply

