The Heroine’s Journey of Marta Gómez

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I enjoy arousing emotions in the people that hear me sing.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The real encounter with people´s eyes. I love that.

What is my greatest fear? The loss of people´s affection. I “believe” they may stop loving me.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My insecurity and self-judgment.

What is my greatest extravagance? Possessing five amazing cats, and a dog. And a fish. HAHAHA.

On what occasion would I lie? I find it hard to hurt people, so I sweeten the truth sometimes.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? It is very important to look upon strong women that believed in themselves and made it with their courage.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That the time and effort you put into it seems to be unappreciated when it comes to getting paid.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I flow with the music, sharing the little secrets in the songs so there is a response in the public and in the musicians that accompany me. I get goose bumps.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to worry less and enjoy more.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I have come to savour the study of jazz standards with pleasure beyond anything I could imagine. Not so long ago I didn´t listen to this kind of music and it´s been like finding a treasure.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Long and sunny day strolls in Tribunal neighbourhood and its quaint terraces.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? No favourites for me. It’s too exciting finding new places.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? Eduardo Dorda makes me fly and is ready to catch me as well.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I usually play in a duet, so I dream of a quartet: yes!

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I want to play in beautiful and special events, parties, weddings and fill the place

How can you contact me? http://www.facebook.com/duojazzfortwo

Leave a Reply

