The Heroine’s Journey of Diana Raluca Dirlea

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As a visual artist I love that my work has the potential to connect with people. For this to happen, I’m always on the search for things inside and outside my own persona with whom they can relate to.  
What is my idea of perfect happiness? Flow is my idea of perfect happiness and I do find it while I draw and paint. It is all about those moments in which my mind or body is stretched to its limits in an effort to accomplish something that is difficult and worthwhile.
What is my greatest fear? That I will make dust before becoming dust.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I’m changing my mind too often. One moment I’m excited about something the next one I don’t know how to run faster. If I’m not on the moon, for sure you’ll find me somewhere buried deep in the ground.
What is my greatest extravagance? My childlike behavior mixed with some serious philosophical talks about art and life. It’s like mixing two odd ingredients, never know what you’re gonna get.
On what occasion would I lie? I am a person of values and truth is one of them. However, I would probably bend the truth for someone really close to my heart.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life?
I try to see a role model in each and every single person (no matter how messed up he/she can be). We are all weirdos who just need acceptance and attention and this is the thing I try to follow in connection with my work and personal life. Humans do inspire me everyday in all kind of ways.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The fact that it’s not quite defined. I’m still working on that.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? The first group exhibition I had was a source of great joy, but the happiest I’ve been in my work was one moment at home  when I stood in front of a large scale drawing I made. My eyes got lost following the shapes and forms and I had a feeling of pure ecstasy. It was my first aesthetic experience related to a work of mine.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would definitely like to be less sensitive; No more watery eyes and hurt feelings.
What is my greatest achievement in work? I had some great achievements with my work and at that particular moment in time each of them were the best and I’ll like that to remain the same, at least in my memory.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Cluj-Napoca. On the bus. Observing lots of different people, many visual elements and feelings. There one can see the dynamic of the city. So inspiring.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? There are many lovely places where I enjoy going (can’t even name them all). Of course, my all time favourite place to eat and drink is at home with my girls; it’s that natural environment with no expectations whatsoever.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? I am blessed to have a great family and amazing friends that support me in all that I am.
Whom would I like to work with in the future? I’ve always enjoyed working with open people that always aspire to expand themselves.
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I have lots of projects on the go; I’m most keen to start one in which I intend to make illustrations for some awesome book reviews. All about encouraging reading!
How can you contact me?
I currently live in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. We can get in touch on:
Gmail: dr.dirlea@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

