The Heroine’s Journey of Debora Petrina

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  The joy of creativity.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  Happiness is a hard conquest, and it can be perfect only for a few moments. It arrives when your inside feels totally connected with the outside, as a unique system.
What is my greatest fear? To remain ‘unconnected’, which means to be alone.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The fear to go outside my comfort zone.
What is my greatest extravagance? To think that extravagance is only the feature of an ”intravagance”, if you dare to wander inside yourself.
On what occasion would I lie? My mother taught me that some lies are good, when you tell them with the best of intentions.
What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? They teach me to be sincere with myself and follow my deepest desires.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  The fact it requires much time to be spent alone.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  When my efforts reached a goal; i remember for example when the Instituto Cubano de la Musica invited me to play at La Havana but I hadn’t the money to pay the flight: one year later I read of a grant advertised in a tiny column on a free press that I picked up at a local bakery…I applied and I got it!
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would live in a different place, and probably in a different time also 🙂 Apart from this I would be ‘easier’.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to write the right lyrics and the right music, the ones which more adhere to my real nature.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Every location if a ride my bike very fast.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The best Pina Colada is at the Cuban bar next door to my house, Elegguà (Padua). Unfortunatey Padua is not so up to date for vegan food, but I recommend the Sacher Torte I ate last week at Universo Vegano.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? There is one person who always support me, which doesn’t mean to be a fan!
Whom would I like to work with in the future? Jim O’Rourke! (in my dreams…)
What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I’ve started to work on new compositions that will guide me to different regions; I’m still far away but I can glimpse something.
How can you contact me?  
Through my web-site, http://www.deborapetrina.com, and through my Facebook Page, http://www.facebook.com/deborapetrina
Leave a Reply

