The Heroine’s Journey of Giada Giachino

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love the versatility of being a designer. It has allowed me to work in different fields and explore ideas crossing disciplines. I have a background in fashion design and I have been working in interior and graphic design. My last projects involved jewellery and design consultancy.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? A studio close to the beach, a well managed amount of work, time with my loved ones.

What is my greatest fear? I am afraid of missing events and news. As designer I have to be aware of the cultural and economical events in order to catch opportunities.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Impatience. And I learnt that things need time in order to happen.
What is my greatest extravagance? Vintage Asian clothes and fashion jewellery. I have a collection of both and they fill a great part of my wardrobe
On what occasion would I lie? I don’t have occasion for lying. Lies are a waste of energy, time and memory.

                                                                                                                                                     

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My parents are my main role models, they have taught me the importance of integrity, justice and strength. My father is an artist and he taught me the power of imagination. My mother is a bank manager, and she inspires me with her pragmatism.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Plagiarism and the depreciation of creativity as a skill.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Last year in Naples, during a visit to traditional jewellery factories. It was a great experience, where I saw the chance of introducing innovation in the jewellery field through sustainable materials.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I don’t think I am able to change anything about myself, I try to be resilient with my flaws as they will be mine forever.

What is my greatest achievement in work? The greatest achievement is my work. I have been through a lot for it and I am proud of what I am doing.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Victoria&Albert Museum in London, I think is one of those places I would never be tired to visit. I always discover something new and every piece is inspiring. My favourite part is the jewellery gallery, of course!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The Twist in Marylebone is the best for innovative Tapas with deep Italian roots (http://www.twistkitchen.co.uk/). The Bar at the Hari Hotel in Belgravia is a little gem where to enjoy well made cocktails in a lavish environment.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My photographer Vicente Mateu ( http://www.mateugallery.com/), we have been working together for two years and he has always supported me.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to set up a collective with emerging designers from different backgrounds.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I will collaborate with fashion designers and artists for jewellery capsule collections for the next fashion week in London and Milan.

How can you contact me? 

From my website www.giadagiachino.com

On instagram and twitter @giadagiachino

Leave a Reply

