The Heroine’s Journey of Mari Accardi

What is the best thing that I love about my work? During the summer season, I take tourists around Sicily and the South of Italy, and the rest of the year I teach Italian in France but mostly I write and draw cartoons. Hopefully one day I will manage to bring all my passions together. For now, this kind of flexibility is one of the things that I like.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being so immersed in creating something that I forget to think about the future. Talking all night to a friend without looking at the smart phone. Petting my dog. Playing cards with my family during Christmas time. My idea of perfect happiness can change according to my mood.

What is my greatest fear? Every day I add a new fear. In general: regrets, planes, highways, umbrellas, the wind blowing, mirrors and dolls after watching horror movies.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Impatience.

What is my greatest extravagance? I spend hours spying on a stray cat from my window. Not sure if it can be considered an extravagance.

On what occasion would I lie? If it was for me I would lie more often. Unfortunately I cannot control my facial expressions.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Normally I’m inspired by late bloomers, people who are always keen to try new things, embark on new adventures, no matter their age or professional background.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Endlessly smiling (in summer), loneliness (in winter).

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? A few months ago, when I used my drawings to explain some historical events to a group of tourists. We had a lot of fun. And also when a friend of mine transformed a cartoon I made for her into fridge magnets to give as wedding presents.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? It’s becoming more and more difficult to define what my city is, since I’ve changed five cities in five years. The most important places for me are: a neighbourhood library with a big collection of comics and graphic novels and an unpretentious coffee shop where I can write.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? In Toulouse L’Estaminot, a tearoom and second-hand bookshop. And Boli Cafè, a Korean restaurant that serves only three dishes and has the kindest service. In Palermo I like to buy greasy food and wine in a street market and walk along the small harbour.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend, who gives me a lot of ideas, and (virtually) my friends, who are scattered all over the world.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Since I work alone most of the time, collaboration is what I long for at the moment. I would like to work with associations who use art and creativity for social purposes. But also with magazines, handcrafters, or for mixed-media art projects.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I’m about to complete a collection of short stories and I’m drawing (slowly) a comic book.

How can you contact me?

Instagram

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s