The Heroine’s Journey of Raphaela Edelbauer

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Externally: Being alone, being self-sufficient, no authority, no boss, no norms. Internally: Exploring the possibilities of the medium I was made to explore – language.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The blank page and a few cups of coffee.

What is my greatest fear? Becoming culturally irrelevant.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Nothing. I think that I am responsible for the traits I cultivate in myself: If I don’t like them I work on changing them, and if I can’t, then I try to accept them at least.

What is my greatest extravagance? Believing in innovation in a time where people say that everything has been said and done.

On what occasion would I lie? Social anxiety – after two hours at a party I sometimes claim that I have to leave instantly because my kitchen is burning down. My social threshhold is very limited.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? When I was a teen I created a wall with pictures of my favourite writers and their biggest achievements — with hopes to surpass them one day of course! 😉 Nowadays I feel that one of the greatest challenges is to not let the aesthetics of others influence the quality of my own work.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Revising texts, as it is a slow and rather painful process. It separates the mediocre from the excellent writer though, I’m afraid…

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I don’t exaggerate when I say that I love to get to work every. single. day. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t pumped to sit down and write.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I’d love to have better eyesight. With minus 6,5 dioptries I am useless without glasses or contact lenses.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to make a living off typing characters into a keyboard, which is absurd if you think about it.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The river Danube. I am a competitive rower and spend as much time on the water as I possibly can.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Kuishimbo – a traditional Japanese restaurant at the Naschmarkt. Those Udon bowls and Katsudons get me every time.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  I am very lucky to say that they change with every project and thus I get to know many inspirational people. At the moment I am simultaneously working on a book with the artist Simon Goritschnig (www.simongoritschnig.com), a radioplay with producer and musician Corina Cinkl (blackheartofficial.wordpress.com) and a megaperformance with a dear collegue of mine, Jan Braun.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to write a libretto or an experimental text for composers of contemporary music. I am and have always been a fan of new music.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I would love to get into writing for theatre and radio more. I also should post videos on Youtube more often – I love to document my journey.

How can you contact me?

hallo@raphaelaedelbauer.com

Through Twitter: twitter.com/raphiedel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCeAgjcS00D09RwsogHzmb2w

Leave a Reply

