The Heroine’s Journey of Mascha Ekkel

 

What is the best thing that I love about my work? There are many, many things I love about my work, like independence and the creative part, but most of all I love the people I work for and the designs and products they make. That’s why I started my company in the first place!

What is my idea of perfect happiness? My idea of perfect happiness is being able to do what you love most, with and for the ones you love most. That, ofcourse in good health! Up until now I’m actually very close to perfect happiness!

What is my greatest fear? I’m not such a fearful person, but I do worry about things like the wellbeing of our planet and the attitude and behaviour of some people and groups.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Well, I thought I’d left all the bad traits behind me, but now you mention it: I’m still a bit uncertain and modest when it comes to presenting myself and my company. I definitely intend to improve that in 2017!

What is my greatest extravagance? Haha, that was years ago but to never forget: I bought a small convertible car matching my handbag! You should have seen the face of that salesman! And after that I bought a mobile phone matching my car. Hilarious!

On what occasion would I lie? Although I can say I am an honest person, I would (I did:-) lie to the soccer trainer of my young children about unexpectedly not being able to attend the training, when it’s actually just too cold or too rainy outside ….

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? There are so many role models who inspired me, but who most influenced and effected my life and my work, is my dear friend and personal coach Stieneke Luik. She tought me how to live stressless, to let go of subsidiaries and to make choices.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? That’s an easy one: technical ICT computer stuff. It truly frustrates me when wifi is down or when for some reason my device does not work! I have to be onine all the time, so when that happens, I get really irritated.

When and where was I the happiest in my work? You find me very happy when clients are enthousiastic about the article I wrote for them or about the advice I gave. Ofcourse I am also very happy when my readers react and interact positively on my posts.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Maybe I could use just a little bit more patience and courage.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Difficult question! Besides running a healthy, growing and innovative company, started from scratch, without any experience, financials or network and having great clients with great portfolios, I think my greatest achievement is that I’m actually inspiring people.

What is my most inspirational location? Although I get inspired from many things other than locations, I have to say that the Dutch coast, specifically Noordwijk aan Zee, inspires me the most. You can find me there often, in every season of the year. The view of the beach and the sea frees my mind!

What is my favourite place to at and drink? Since I love seafood and wine, my favourite places to eat and drink are beach venues all over the world where I prefer to eat oisters and drink matching white wine and where bikini’s, flip flops and live jazzy sounds give extra glance to the sundown.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? That would definitely be Edith Zwagerman. She is my biggest fan, sparringpartner, advisor and coach. Since I work alone most of the time, it’s really nice to have the ability to discuss important issues with somebody who understands, who is objective, intelligent and actually free of interest.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Well, actually I already work with a few people I wanted to work with in the Netherlands. Hopefully that will be continued and intensified. In 2017 I hope to meet some Italian topdesigners, like Piero Lissoni and Rodolfo Dordoni since I adore their designs. Maybe I will have some luck at Salone del Mobile next April.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Under the umbrella of LEEM Concepts I already launched two concepts: LEEM Wonen in 2015 and LEEM Advies in 2016. Next year I hope to launch my third concept, LEEM Live, on which I am working very hard at the moment. LEEM Live will allow me to lively show the products I love and to create a live ‘LEEM experience’ for both consumers and branche professionals.

How can you contact me? If you are a ‘high-end-living-lover’ like I am, feel welcome to visit my blog at http://www.leemwonen.nl and follow me on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Instagram for daily, free inspirational content. When you are a designer, an agent or shop owner and you would like to co-operate and/or work with me, please send me an email: info@leemwonen.nl or give me a call on +31 6 401 47 657.

My name is Mascha Ekkel, owner and founder of LEEM Wonen, which is thé Dutch Blogazine for luxury living. LEEM Wonen is an online catwalk for topdesigners and exclusive labels, where consumers and branche professionals are being inspired via their mobile devices throughout daily, free content.

Next to LEEM Wonen, I also advice the branche concerning online marketing and social media ánd I write for luxury lifestyle magazines such as The Art of Living and Belafonte.

Leave a Reply

