The Heroine’s Journey of Iulia Tat

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As an equestrian, I love everything about my work. Starting from cleaning the stables and the equip, hours of training together with my beloved black mare, to taking part in competition where I feel like nothing matters anymore is just ME and HER. That’s our magical moment, when we show others that horseback riding isn’t that simple as it looks. Leaving aside the dirty work, the sweat and the tiredness I’m enjoying every single moment spent in the saddle.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? There is only one answer: seeing myself over few years, doing what I love from the bottom of my heart and being able to share with others the most amazing feeling that a horse can give you.

What is my greatest fear? I’m not fearless, but this sport and the connection with the horse taught me to control my fears.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Sometimes I get angry more than I should, but horses always help me to calm down.

What is my greatest extravagance?  When my horse was sick, I slept over night in the stable with her. And another would be that I buy more “clothes” for my horse than for myself.

On what occasion would I lie? I’m not a liar, but I would lie if I have to keep someone safe or to keep a surprise.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? The influence of role models in show jumping is pretty big. As an young rider you need someone to teach you and to inspire from. I have many top riders whom I aspire to be like, simply because they are good at what they do and we have a common interest- a love for horses. I have picked up on many little things they do to try on my own horses at home. This is sometimes exercises, advice from clinics or particular ways of riding that I think could benefit both me and my horse. Having a role model is a great way to motivate yourself to achieve a goal.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? If you like something, you can’t dislike anything. I do what I love and I love what I do.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m the happiest person on Earth when I’m with my horses.

If I could, what would I change about myself? If I could, I would like to be more patient with people as I am with my horses.

What is my greatest achievement in work? After I bought Dimone, I felt the connection between us. We were both young and untrained. Started from the bottom, we took baby steps and trained every day to get the day when we share the podium.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? For sure, that would be at the stables.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I prefer doing these stuffs home with my friends and family.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? The one and only, my mother. She supported me from the moment I got in the saddle for the first time, till now on.  She has always been there when I needed her and brought out the best in me.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to continue training me and my horses with the best coach I ever had. He understands that show jumping is a difficult sport so every time we are about to get in the arena and the emotions are high, he calms us down by telling to go there and have fun.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? In the future, I’m looking forward to take part in many competitions as I can, to lean from my mistakes and also to correct them. I would love to continue teaching my students to respect my four leg friends and to ride them.

How can you contact me?   

Email: iulia_tat@yahoo.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/iulia.tat.7

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/maria_iulia15/?hl=ro

Leave a Reply

