The Heroine’s Journey of Chiara Cola

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The fact that I am in love with it and that it is a vehicle to express my inner world.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Travel, going around a new city, discovering it in freedom.

What is my greatest fear? Losing physical or mental autonomy.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Being not totally able to express with words emotions and feelings, both positive and negative, in their whole depth.

What is my greatest extravagance? Imagining secret lives, dreams and desires of strangers passing around me.

On what occasion would I lie? As my dear uncle Lelio taught me when I was a kid: “it’s not bad if you invent a little story to make someone smile if he/she had a boring or heavy day”.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? I am inspired by people who help others, first of all doctors who work in emergencies or in war zones. Another role model is my dog for its spontaneity and unconditional love.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Its wavy unpredictability.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? In 2010 in Miami, when I presented my video V.O.Y.E.U.R. at Art Basel, with photographer Kofi Paintsil.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be more straightforward and to be able to say what I feel.

What is my greatest achievement in work? All the projects I have done taught me something but probably the one I am most emotionally attached to is when I designed costumes with prints for a dance performance for the event NU:S by Double Studio, held at Chiostro del Bramante in Rome in 2012. I still get goose bumps when I look at the video and everyone involved was so great!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I mostly love churches in Rome, I think my favorite spot is Sant’Ivo alla Sapienza from the genius of Francesco Borromini.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Osteria Bonelli in Torpignattara. Ice cream from Corona in Largo Argentina.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest fan is my dog, Mirò. My partner in crime is Elena.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would love to work with costume designer Sandy Powell, possibly in a Martin Scorsese’s movie. I would also like to held art and design workshops for teenagers serving in a juvenile hall.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? A new creative partnership with my talented colleague and friend Elena Pavinato. How can you contact me? You can email me at: cola.chiara@gmail.com Website: http://www.chiaracola.com

Leave a Reply

