The Heroine’s Journey of Giuliana Pulvirenti

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing I love about my work is that it allows me to express myself in different ways and to focus on things that trigger my interest and curiosity.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The sense of astonishment that a majestic natural landscape could give you, as well as the sense of connection that it is possible to share with other meaningful beings.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to be trapped by fear or indolence in consolidated habits. That is avoiding new experiences just because they are new or out of confort zone and basically stop growing. I think that this would be a despicable way to waste a life. I always try to not to fall in this kind of trap.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I can be sensitive and sometimes prone to depression when I feel constrained and impotent about things that matter to me in life.

What is my greatest extravagance? I love looking for insects (but other animals also) wherever I go. I find that they have amazing anatomical and morphological features (astonishing shapes and colors and so on) as well as interesting behaviors. I love observing, drawing and studying them.

On what occasion would I lie? I don’t like lying, at all. However I could lie to protect someone I love or deeply care about.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? My role models are people who lived meaningful and intense lives pursuing freedom and knowledge according to ethical values that I approve. They’re an evergreen inspiration to me and I sometimes make fan art drawings of them (once I managed to personally give one of my drawings to Jane Goodal at a conference, what an amazing experience!).

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Obliged social interactions and working sometimes on things that are not as inspirational as I would like.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Whenever I feel satisfied with it.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I can be a quite solitary person, I don’t like crowded places as well as superficial social interactions. However being sociable is a very useful trait in modern societies and sometimes I would like to be a little bit more social and outgoing. Another thing that I would like to mitigate is my perfectionism. It can be paralyzing at times and paralysis lead to no achievement at all.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I’m working on it.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The sight of mount Etna (an active volcano in Catania province).

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Fud and Moroboshi in Catania.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My boyfriend and some of my dearest friends.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I would like to work with people that share the same passion I have about the natural world.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Right now I am working on a few different drawing projects that have nature as main theme. I am also working on my PhD research project that aim to analyze social and cognitive aspects of human language faculty compared to the communicative systems of other closely related species, from an evolutionary perspective.

How can you contact me? https://www.facebook.com/badsteel https://www.facebook.com/GiulianaPulvirentiArt/ https://www.behance.net/Badsteel

Leave a Reply

