The Heroine’s Journey of Nata Ryzh

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The process: from an idea to physical manifestation where every time something new is born. Plus the endless design proportions and colour possibilities, where my work becomes a play and meditation at the same time.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Being in harmony with my ‘wants’ and ‘possibilities’. Being in present tense without being somewhere else in my mind; to be open, laugh or cry fully without any fears with the loved ones.

What is my greatest fear? Not to do or give the best to those I love and care, and of course loosing someone dear or close.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Fear, self criticism,  extreme attention to every detail at work.

What is my greatest extravagance? To have all that is needed for healthy and successful life and still spent time fearing the future and complaining:)

On what occasion would I lie? For human or animal safety and a less hurtful outcome.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Looking up to people who never give up, try the best they can, stay positive no matter how many times they fail.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Unfair and unsafe practices,  where people or planet is compromised for cheaper materials and products. People that do not understand real value of clothing and design and not ready to pay for organic production, fair trade and long working hours.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Place doesn’t make a difference, it is all in your mind. I am happiest when  I work on my own and forget about time and space that is  around me. The ideas  flow and hands create.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would work on my self esteem and self worth, to make them higher, plus would like to be more positive as a human.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Finishing the legendary MA fashion design course at Central St Martins in London in 2006, participation in International Fashion Week Amsterdam with my brand for 3 years with very little resources and courage and finally the dedication to my work during my first and second pregnancies and not quitting after becoming a mother.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  I love Gemeente museum Den Haag, its never too overcrowded and always has something new going on..art is what inspires me always.. artist’s great achievements and ideas!

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I love The Hague Giuliano’s little Italian restaurant with very authentic and delicious food from south of Italy!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, who no matter how crazy it can get in fashion business is always there for me to support or help out, mentally or physically. He is one of the few who truly  believes in me and my abilities!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Someone who is busy with sustainable fashion and knows exactly where their fabrics are coming from. Someone who is busy not only with making money, but making a difference in how we produce our clothing.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? One is to launch my new web shop ” made for you” that will sell not just my brand  but others, similar in ideology with unique products. I would also love to work and employ professionals from all over the world with traditional craftsmanship skills and history.

How can you contact me?   

You can find me via my website: www.nata-ryzh.com or contact me by email info@nata-ryzh.com

As well as on Nata Ryzh Facebook account: https://m.facebook.com/NataRyzh/

Leave a Reply

