The Heroine’s Journey of Marion Waterkeyn

What is the best thing that I love about my work? As a fashion designer, the best part for me is creating, to get my ideas taken out of a dream to become alive and ready to be worn.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Acceptance. When you accept the world the way it is, your mind is in peace. I wish one day to achieve the real peace of mind and share it to people.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is to lose people I love.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I  have got no confidence in myself. I ask myself a lot of stupid questions all the time. My mind is a storm.

What is my greatest extravagance? Probably creating my fashion brand. It’s a big challenge cos a lot of people want to do it. At the end of the day, few people are successful. I think that we have to listen to our heart and all the things we want will come to us.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie when I don’t want to hurt. I hate to lie anyway.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? In my work, I met a wonderful person, his name is Michael Sweeney the best head tailor in London. I lived in London during almost two years, he taught me men’s tailoring. I will never forget him for his generosity and kindness. He taught me to be more accurate and faster. I love to meet people with a strong intelligence, creativity and positive energy. It makes me more creative.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? To manage everything: design, model making, conversions, creating and altering patterns, fabric cutting, prototype assembly, proposal and development of technical solutions, in charge of the product from its deployment, client fittings, sewing by hand and by machine, communication, marketing side, administrative side. I’m alone to do everything. It’s not just a creative job. The most difficult part is to force myself to breathe and to do nothing!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m very happy in my atelier when I got an idea which brings me in a trance. It’s a very strong emotion that I love the most. Also when my client is wearing the creation that I have made especially for her. It’s a beautiful symbiotic relationship between the client, the creation and the designer, we work all together!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would change my way of thinking, being more confident and less stressed.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I recently created two innovative fashion concepts. One is a skirt convertible in a bag and the other is a flexible dress that you can change the shape as you like. I’m the only one in the world who thought of it. My concepts are protected.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? In the cinema. It’s a big problem for me, when I’m watching a movie, my inspiration is highly developed. I can’t focus on the movie, my mind is travelling. So I can’t remember movies stories, it’s bad for that.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I liked to have a good time close to my house at the Pdg in Paris but they just closed. I have to find another place! The location is not important for me if I’m with my friends or my family.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family and my friends.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? I really would like to work with Tim Burton for his movies as a costume maker. His movies are very creative so I’m sure it could be a good deal if we can share our ideas.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? My brand is more than wearing clothes, it’s a life philosophy. I would like to give happiness to people, give them the possibility to trust and achieve their dreams. We can deliver a lot of messages with fashion, I want to spread love all around the world.

How can you contact me?

https://www.facebook.com/MarionWaterkeynCouture/

https://www.instagram.com/marion_waterkeyn/

https://fr.pinterest.com/marionwaterkeyn/

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

