The Heroine’s Journey of Alma Dominguez

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Con mi pintura soy libre y es más una necesidad que un trabajo, en la galería el poder compartir con artistas tan diversos y como asesora financiera el ayudar a las familias con la educación de sus hijos y la planificación financiera ahorrando e invirtiendo. My work as an artist brings me freedom. When I paint, I am free. It is something I need to do. As a financial adviser it is rewarding to help families with the education of their children as well as their financial planning, saving and investing.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Independencia emocional y económica. El estar con alguien o en algún lugar porque así lo quieres no porque dependas de ello, creo que es básico para tener equilibrio contigo y tu entorno. No garantiza la felicidad pero ayuda bastante. Emotional and economic independence. Being with someone or somewhere because it’s my choice, not because I depend on it. I think it’s important and natural to want to have a balance within yourself and the environment(s) you’re in. It does not guarantee happiness, but it helps a lot.

What is my greatest fear? Que le hagan daño a mis hijos y perder la confianza en mi. Someone hurting my children and losing confidence in myself.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Inconsistencia con algunas cosas importantes… cuando estoy enojada puedo herir mucho con las palabras, pero es algo en lo que estoy trabajando desde hace tiempo. Inconsistency with some important things. For example, I always want to be kind, but… when I’m angry, I can hurt you with my words. It’s something that I’ve been working on for some time.

What is my greatest extravagance? Seguir viviendo en un país que no es el mio, sola con mis hijos lejos de mi familia. To continue living in a country that is not mine, alone with my beautiful children, but far away from my family back home.

On what occasion would I lie? Para convencer a mis hijos que estoy bien en temporadas difíciles. To convince my children that I am well during difficult seasons.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? Los modelos que me inspiran son las personas que trabajan por el bienestar colectivo, contra injusticias sociales, la gente que no se queda callada y actua, tanto en su vida personal como en su vida social. The role models that inspire me are people who work for the collective well-being. People who rally against social injustices. People who do not remain silent and act, both in their personal life and in their social life.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Cuando la gente no respeta tu tiempo, me molesta tener una cita y que la gente no tenga la educación de avisarte y simplemente no se presente a esta. When people do not respect your time. It bothers me to have an appointment set up, and then clients simply do not show up without notice.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? el proceso creativo en mi estudio (en la madrugada con buena música y una copa de buen vino) pero cuando tienes una exhibición con todo tu trabajo el compartir con amigos los procesos porque cada obra tiene su propia historia. During the creation process in my studio (at dawn with good music and a glass of good wine) I am believe I am in a content place. When I have an exhibition, and have the opportunity to share my work with friends, peers and community is special. Each of my paintings has its own story and so do my processes, so getting to share that makes me happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Uno constantemente está cambiando en la vida, trato que estos constantes cambios graduales sean para bien.Everyone is constantly changing in life. I try to make these gradual changes in me positive ones. Changes that make me a better person.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Seguir pintando después de casi dos décadas de estarlo haciendo y manejar una galería de arte junto con amigos artistas por más de dos años. That I am still painting and inspired after almost two decades of doing it. Also managing an art gallery together with my artist friends for over two years.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Muchos, pero en particular el Lago Michigan… cuando ya no hay nadie, en la noche. There are many, but particularly anywhere along Lake Michigan … when there is no one else, at night.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? disfruto mucho escuchar bandas de blues y jazz local en Millennium park. Comida, cerveza y buena música al aire libre con amigos en el centro de Chicago. I really enjoy listening to blues bands and local jazz at Millennium park. Great food, beer and great music with friends in downtown Chicago.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? mas que fans tengo muchos amigos que te estimulan siempre a seguir pintando, la paciencia que me han tenido mis hijos ha sido fundamental. More than fans, I have many friends that always encourage me to continue painting. The patience that my children have had with me is fundamental.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? Me gustan las colaboraciones y he realizado algunas con muy buenos amigos artistas, en un futuro me gustaría trabajar en un proyecto de arte público con amigos muralistas que quiero y respeto mucho aquí en la ciudad de Chicago. I like collaborations! I have had some with very good friends. In the future I would like to work on a public art project with a few muralist friends here in the city of Chicago.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? Estoy trabajando en mi próxima exposición individual, está proyectado un libro con mi obra para este 2017 y de igual manera me gustaría empezar a aterrizar lo de un mural en esta ciudad. I am working on my next solo exhibition. Also a book of my work for 2017. As I mentioned earlier I would like to start creating a mural in this city.

How can you contact me? facebook.com/AlmaDominguezArt/ instagram.com/almadominguezart/

alma.dominguez@opencenterforthearts.org

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

