The Heroine’s Journey of Camille Toyer

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love the freedom that I have in my work. I’m free to organize my training time, to work where I want and with who I want, to create my own work.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? The perfect happiness would be to live in a nice house with all my friends next to the see with a big training space, to work with my favorites cies and with my own cie and perform everywhere in the world with a show that I made and love.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear would be to not achieve my goal in work and love, not find or be with the person that I love and not perform my own work.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I deplore that fact that I easily envy other people and compare myself too much to others.

What is my greatest extravagance? My hair, the colour and the shape change always. I like when it’s flashy.

On what occasion would I lie? I would lie to protect other people.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The administration and communication part. I really don’t like when you have to sell yourself and make all papers work to be able to create and show your own work.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I performed in different festivals in Europe with my cyr wheel solo or with the show that I’m creating with another circus artist. It’s always really nice to see many great shows, to meet different people, to travel and discover new places. And of course you show your work and get a lot from the audience.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would like to be a hard worker even if I’m already and I would like to be able to push myself further without to be scared of anything.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I started the circus school with one discipline, partner acrobatics but after 2 years I split up with my partner. I didn’t know what to do and was not sure if I wanted to continue to do circus. I was completely lost. But after talking to people and listen myself, I decided to continue and to learn a new discipline, the cyr wheel. I worked hard during 1 and half year and got graduated with this discipline. Now I’m working a lot with the cyr wheel.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The cathedral and the old part of the city.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I don’t go to eat out often but to drink they are severals nice places. I love to go to drink to different places to not see always the same people, it depends of my mood.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? It was my mother.

Whom would I like to work with in the future? There are a lot small circus companies that I love and would be interested to work with them. I’m creating my own company with another artist from my class in Rotterdam and I really want to continue to work with them. I’m also interested to work for big circus company from Canada ( as Eloi¨ze, 7 fingers..) or Australia ( as circa) and love dance company.

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on? I really want to finish our show with the cie and be able to perform it in different theaters, festivals…I’m also working with a dutch choreographer and would like to finish our piece. I would like to go on a cruiseship to be able to see how is it to perform there. I’m interested to do many different projects and nourish myself from experiences.

How can you contact me? You write to me on my email adress : camille.toyer@laposte.net
or my professionnal facebook page :

https://www.facebook.com/camilletoyercyrwheelartist/

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

