The Heroine’s Journey of Samira Sedira

What is the best thing I love about my work? To write, one needs silence, a real silence, and not to be afraid of the loneliness. I like this. Pour écrire, il faut du silence, un vrai silence, et ne pas avoir peur de la solitude. J’aime ça.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? There is no perfect happiness. There are, in my opinion, a number of little things that constitute happiness. Il n’y a pas de bonheur parfait. Il y a, selon moi, une somme de petites choses qui constituent le bonheur.

What is my biggest fear? The end of democracy. The loss of our freedoms. La fin de la démocratie. La perte de nos libertés.

What trait do I deplore most in me? I am angry, impatient, and sometimes not very tolerant with the people around me. Je suis colérique, impatiente, et parfois peu tolérante avec les personnes de mon entourage.

What is my greatest extravagance? I think I can be a child again, and play with my son as if we were the same age. Je pense être capable de redevenir une enfant, et de jouer avec mon fils comme si nous avions le même âge.

On what occasion would I lie? At any time. Lying can be useful when properly used. A n’importe quelle occasion. Le mensonge peut être utile quand il est bien utilisé.

What is the influence of role models in my work and life? The models I chose to follow influence have built me as a woman and as an artist. Les modèles dont j’ai choisi de suivre l’influence m’ont construite en tant que femme et en tant qu’artiste.

What is the thing I do not like the most in my work ? What I do not like is also what I like. To write, you have to be alone. Totally alone. The cat can still do some back and forth without it disturbing me… But loneliness may be heavy sometimes. Ce que je n’aime pas est également ce que j’aime. Pour écrire, il faut être seul. Totalement seul. Le chat peut tout de même faire quelques allers-retours sans que cela ne me dérange… Mais la solitude peut-être pesante, parfois.

When and where was I happiest in my work? When I meet the readers, those who have read my books and who speak to me. It is the readers who make the books. Quand je rencontre les lecteurs, ceux qui ont lu mes livres et qui m’en parlent. Ce sont les lecteurs qui font les livres.

If I could, what would I change? I would like more readers, all readers of the world! I am greedy and ambitious! Je voudrais plus de lecteurs, tous les lecteurs du monde ! Je suis gourmande et ambitieuse !

What is my greatest achievement in the work? My first book. To succeed to be published in France is a course of the combatant! Do not give up. For me, it is a victory to have succeeded. Mon premier livre. Réussir à se faire publier en France est un parcours du combattant ! Il faut s’acharner, ne jamais baisser les bras. Pour moi, c’est une victoire que d’y être parvenue.

What is my most inspiring place in my city? The quays of the Seine, the banks of the Marne, wherever water flows. Les quais de Seine, les bords de Marne, partout où l’eau coule.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink in my city? To eat and drink in my city, there is the Pavilion pueblo, an excellent restaurant in the heart of the buttes Chaumont park in the 19th arrondissement of Paris. It’s calm, it’s beautiful, it’s good, a haven of peace. Pour manger et boire dans ma ville, il y a le Pavillon Pueblo, un excellent restaurant au cœur du parc des buttes Chaumont dans le 19eme arrondissement de Paris. C’est calme, c’est beau, c’est bon, un havre de paix.

Who is my biggest fan, sponsor and partner in crime? My husband, my cat and my son. An excellent trio. Mon mari, mon chat, mon fils. Un excellent trio.

Who do I want to work with in the future? With whom will, as long as the person in question is an interesting person who opens me to other horizons. Avec qui voudra, du moment que la personne en question soit une personne intéressante qui m’ouvre à d’autres horizons.

What project, in the near future, am I looking forward to? I am looking forward to finishing my third novel. Je suis impatiente de terminer mon troisième roman.

How can you contact me?

On my Facebook page. Sur ma page Facebook. This show on youtube was devoted to Samira

You can buy Samira’s books here at Amazon.com.  When you buy her books here you contribute to the Heroine’s Journey project because we are partner of Amazon.com. 

samira

Buy  L’odeur des planches here.

 

51xdjehmal

Buy Majda en aout here

 

Leave a Reply

