The Heroine’s Journey of Sarah van den IJssel

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Freedom, having the possibility to do what I want, when I want

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To be balanced, being satisfied with who I am on the inside

What is my greatest fear? To lose my loved ones

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? That I want to do a million things all at once

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Those who’ve made ‘it’ by themselves

What is my greatest extravagance? Transforming from a sweet humble girl to a femme fatale on stage

On what occasion would I lie? If it would save a friend or loved one

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Paperwork

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? A few weeks back at a gig in Groenlo with my DJ friend Amica Nova and when I recently closed a very good deal with a festival. Positive people make me happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Being able to let go of certain feelings

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being able to make a living out of my passion

Where would I most like to live? LA

What is my most treasured possession? A gold bracelet my father had bought for my mother when returning from Saoudi Arabia. It didn’t fit her, he gave it to me fifteen years later when I was around twelve. It is just special to me.

What is my most marked characteristic? Very enthusiastic

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Bends, where I get my vocal lessons.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Beers&Barrels

What books influenced my life and how? A long way gone, a story about a child soldier, it really makes you appreciate what you have.

Who are my favorite writers? Freddie Mercury, Lana Del Rey

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? If only one track: Lana Del Rey – Old Money.If more, I would put on my spotify playlist “Crushed Hearts” there is only very pretty, melancholic music in it.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Ellen Ripley, Alien movies

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mom and dad

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? At least once in a lifetime: “Pay it Forward”

What role plays art in my life and work? The lead

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My best friend Johnny

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Chocolate Puma, John Ewbank, Peter Gelderblom

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Tjeerd Oosterhuis, there are so many people I would love to meet. Just as long as they are sincere and give me energy.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? My first album, really excited to finally make what I really want to.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? http://www.sarahfallmusic.com.Hopefully I will be all over the radio and internet, you will also find me as a presenter on http://www.top40.nl which is the official Dutch top 40.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Do what you love and you will never work a day in your life.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? I would love to hear the story of Dutch artist Kovacs.

How can you contact me? There’s a contact form on my website http://www.sarahfallmusic.com

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

