The Heroine’s Journey of Ilona Hendriks

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  Making “pictures”, creating “images”.  My power lies in the translation of a message into a strong visual concept. Alone in my atelier with Canvas and Paint and on the other hand together with a passionate and professional team in my event business as show director and producer creating a LIVE show with performers on stage.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? In the end it is all about Love. “The greatest thing you will ever learn is just to love and be loved in return”.

What is my greatest fear? To loose my power to create and move. Movement is my greatest drive and inspiration.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? The way I handle (negative) feedback. I am very severe for myself, strive for perfection and always want to do best, so to handle critique is not my strongest value. In my passionate conviction I unfortunately often express myself in a too aggressive and negative way. Oh yes and “patience is not my middle name”.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire not one person in particular. I admire lots of passionate people. Dedicated, passionate and hard working.

What is my greatest extravagance?  Travels & Holiday’s.

On what occasion would I lie? If I believe the truth is too hard to handle.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The fact that you need to prove yourself over and over again.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? On stage. In my event business & show production the moment that the puzzle comes together. Beijing supported by a passionate and superb team that makes it possible for me to create. To be able to inspiring and motivate people and build the greater picture together with them LIVE on stage. On the other hand alone in my atelier: creating. Where it just simply all comes out and where it happens. Paint happens -Wherever we have spoken openly we have (actually) said nothing. But where we have written something in code and in pictures we have concealed the truth.”* ( *The Rosarium Philosophorum)

If I could, what would I change about myself? More patience and less hard for myself and other people. More open to other people’s opinions. Count till 10 before reacting.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I think my dedication and  “life line”/career. Started of as a dancer, teacher, choreographer and show director I ended up being overall involved as creative director in the  world wide event marketing business right from concept/creation down to production and realisation.

Where would I most like to live? In a small house in a sunny and vivid place near the sea.

What is my most treasured possession? My 2 daughters, although I do not posses them.

What is my most marked characteristic? Energy, enthusiasm and strength. Approaching each engagement with passion, problem-solving rigour and creative clarity. I see myself as a passionate perfectionist, all-round and multi disciplined.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Outside, nature.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? It changes all the time, always looking for new and cozy places.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I just made a very long list -best songs Ilona – so it is impossible for me to choose 1 song. Music is a very important inspiration in my life, I would need my total last day to listen to all of these songs. A very wide scale which contains artists like Elvis Presley , Albinoni, Robbie Williams, Yann Tiersen, The Eagles, Playing for Change,Andre Hazes, Edith Piaf, Stravinsky, Guus Meeuwis, John Legend, De Dijk, Seal, Bette Midler etc etc.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? They go from my mother taking care of my father towards the people offering their lives in order to help others.
From my “mentor “and love of my life towards the people trying to rescue our planet. From the wonderful and dedicated father of my 2 daughters towards the postman delivering the post with a smile each day and I could go on and on….

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Moulin Rouge. As it is in heaven. Forest Gump. Babettes Feast. Terms of endearment. Dreamgirls.

What role plays art in my life and work? I could not live without.Creativity takes courage. People inspire people. I admire people who dare to create and who dare to take risks.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My partner and love of my life.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With as many people as possible as long as the are motivated, hard working and passionate.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? New people. I am ready for new challenges a new step in my career. People that inspire me and people that move me. It is perfect if there is a 1+ 1= 3 formula. A win win situation.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?
I am in search of a certain “line” in my paintings. It is definitely a process. In my series “woman power” I am using a method of painting in which abstraction and figurative images combine and reinforce each other’s effect. I paint females because I naturally have a connection with them, like painting a semi self-portrait

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? My paintings can be seen at Galerie de Lindt XII, in Oisterwijk( Noord Brabant) or you can meet me and my work in my atelier in Tilburg. My event projects are mostly private events or corporate happenings so difficult to attend to- however you can have a look at my website http://www.letsthinknow.com to see some of my works created together with a strong team of professionals.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? The truth. As long as you are passionate about what you do,you will manage and find a way to continue doing what lies in your reach.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?  Jaqueline Hamelink

How can you contact me?

www.letsthinknow.com    www.ilonahendriks.nl  T: +316-21281936  M: ilona@ilonahendriks.nl

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

