The Heroine’s Journey of Suzanne Steinberg

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The ability to think about what ever I want to think about, without judgment, care, or need of self-explanation.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t believe in perfect happiness, because emotions are constantly influx. However, I believe through patience people can find a deep sense of peace/contentment after hardship which is what I look forward to in old age.

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is probably to be unaware of my own fears, to an extreme where they become more in control of me than I realize.

What is the trait I most deplore in myself? The trait I most deplore in myself is my over-sensitivity to people’s thoughts, feelings and actions. And at times a deeper need than I am comfortable with for other’s approval.

Which living person in my profession do I most admire? Margaret Atwood.

What is my greatest extravagance? Chocolate and tea, long conversations with my brother, alone time with my boyfriend.

One what occasion do I lie? I lie if I feel that it would be in the interest of protecting myself.

What is the thing I dislike most about my work? Watching the darkest aspects of humanity become an extension of my dreams, unconscious, and disturb the peaceful corners of myself. And crying in public because I am picking at my own scabs while I write, and losing a veil of privacy. Also living with the heaviness of solitude, but that might just be me and not my work.

When and where, was I the happiest with my work? Writing at coffee shops drinking tea. No special day, just one of those days when I am capable of seeing what I couldn’t see or understand before, and believing that what I am doing will live after I die. And often times too it is the car ride home, or it is taking a second to look out the window or it was the day I finished writing my fictional biography about Nietzsche and taking time to watch the pouring rain, those have all been my happiest moments in my life.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would not be so hard on myself.

What is the greatest achievement in my work? I got a participation award from a recent film festival I was in. My boyfriend has it on his wall.

Where would I most like to live? Here, I like Arizona.

What is my most treasured possession? Probably the clothes I have on my back, I need them.

What is your most marked characteristic? Once I overcome my social anxiety I believe I can be charming.

What is the most inspirational location, in my city? I like going to the psychic store and getting a reading when I am in too much pain from my daily life, that has always left me feeling inspired. I also like going to quiet corners in my room and laying on the floor of my bathroom. I usually go to the same places in the city, the same chair against a large window in my favorite coffee shop.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? I like to eat at home, but if I do go out I like hole in the wall places with really good food. There is a pizza place I really like that I go to on special occasions, they make the cheese, I think. I also just found a breakfast place that makes fresh jam.

What books influence my life and how? I read so many books that I can’t recall just one that has influenced my life. Right now I am reading Sylvia Plath’s journals and an indie book about an interstellar war.

Who are my favorite writers? Who ever I am reading at the time is my current favorite but also Margaret Atwood.

You only die once. What music would I listen to on my last day? I listen to the same five songs on repeat almost every day so probably one of those.

What role does art play in my life and work? It is the center of my life. It is my most intimate and meaningful relationship I have outside of myself.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor or partner in crime? Probably my friend Chris Hunter. I have worked with him over the past four years on independent films.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Probably no one. I am writing a book this year so I usually work alone.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can find my fictional biographies about Nietzsche, Freud or Carl Jung all on amazon.com, and my films are on youtube under fallingorangesprod. And my paintings are hanging up in mental health rehab centers in Arizona. However eventually I am going to make more and you can find me promoting them on my facebook page. I also throw my poetry and my new fictional biography about Sylvia Plath on there.

What do the words, Passion Never Retires, means to me? I don’t know, I was never asked that before. Probably something people say when they move from one life to another and change their center focus or interest.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to be interviewed? Sarah Kelly ( painter), Jaime Glasser ( photographer and community activist) , Robin Israel (writer), Samantha Marie Johnson (film-maker), Dawn Nixon (actress)

How can you contact me? on Facebook 

When you buy one of Suzanne’s books with Amazon.com via this website you contribute to the Heroine’s Journey project because we are Amazon.com partner. 

 

51yfuav3ufl-_uy250_

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

 

 

Leave a Reply

