The Heroine’s Journey of Valentina Sulas

VALENTINA SULAS – actress, author, performer.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The possibility of being another person, completely different from me; turning into someone else and their feelings and desires, without any moral and ethic judgment. Enter in a world where poetry, music, dance, magic live together and even death could be won.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? To live with my loved ones and see them happy and healthy; travel a lot; keep on working achieving new goals; dream.

What is my greatest fear? I prefer to think about fears that I already won: the fear of being misunderstood, of not having the others’ approval. Now I know that it’s not important.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I overthink.

What is my greatest extravagance? Travels

On what occasion would I lie? If lying results in helping a loved one, or a person that I respect. Not always life is just black or white; more often, the truth is a matter of opinions, feelings and consequences.

What is the influence of role models, in my work and in my life? It’s very strong; I have various models that come from my family, about ethic, and I try to put them in every aspect of my life. In my work, my mantra is simple: “work hard, work honestly, and focus on your dream”.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? A lot of people don’t understand the hard work lying behind a theatre show or a movie, and think it’s something always easy, that anybody could do without any skill or competence or studying.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Every time that I really forget the world outside the stage, and go deep into the story I’m living. But the happiest times were in Edinburgh, when I played my own show at the Fringe Festival, and get four stars reviews (“The Mother of the Priest”) performing traditional themes from my country in an international festival.

If I could, what would I change about myself?  I’d like to be a more cheerful and optimistic person.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Being invited as a guest in an international festival ( MISFF Montecatini Film Festival ); having inspired a filmmaker into making a movie adaptation of a theatre performance of mine (“Il Peccatore”); winning the Best Emerging Dramaturgy award (for the play “Sa Reina”, written in collaboration with Andrea Congia).

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The old town and the sea; all the small and independent theatres and venues, where I studied and played a lot. Cagliari is a wonderful city close to the sea, in Sardinia, Italy.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? I’m a seafood lover, and  in my city  there’s a good culinary tradition about it, so there are many amazing restaurants.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband; he encourages me in achieving new goals, embolds me before a casting, and comes to see all my shows!

Whom would I like to work with in the future? There are many directors with whom I’d like to work but.. because of superstition I won’t mention their names!

What project, in the nearby future, am I looking forward to work on?  I’ve been engaged in a big theatre production, where a famous classic play will have a peculiar setting; there will be an amazing group of performers, with whom I’m really happy to work. It’s really a good project, that could tour internationally. In the 2017 I’ll enter also in a feature film, by a young director, with an interesting and fascinating role.

How can you contact me? Find me on Facebook and Instagram; or send an email to valentinasulas27@tiscali.it  

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

