The Heroine’s Journey of Britney Newman

What is the best thing that I love about my work? When I was a child, I didn’t have the luxury of wearing the clothes that I wanted. I dreamed of being the It girl and that’s what my brand is all about. As a designer, I produce clothes for women seeking individuality, yet trendy clothing. Even when I work as a stylist, I create a unique look. I love being a designer because I have the creative freedom to create something amazing for my target audience.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? When you are doing something that you love, that’s perfect happiness. Most people will work for other things outside of happiness including financial stability, inheriting a business from parents, and so many other reasons. It’s happiness when you see the response of the world to what you produce. It happiness when you can run a successful business while doing what you love. It’s so fulfilling to achieve having a business of your own.
What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is not making it in the industry. The fashion industry is hard to get into. And it’s not that I doubt my competence, but it’s all about who you know in the industry. If you don’t know the right people, you could have a successful business with beautiful clothes that never make it in the industry.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I believe it would be worry. Worrying if the world will see my creative vision as I see it. When I’m creating my collections, it feels like butterflies are in my stomach the entire time. It’s so much into designing that people don’t know about. Will they like my color palette, silhouettes, concept, or am I staying within my aesthetic? I worry if I’m being the best that I can be in all aspects of a designer.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Basil Soda is my favorite designer. He is a couturier and his clothes has a lot of tedious and impeccable detail. I want to be as competent as he is one day. He designs inspire me to think out the box and add detail that has never been seen before.
On what occasion would I lie? I have to be honest, I lie to friends that are in the same field. Only to spare their feelings. But it’s hard to tell peers that I’ve seen their design a million times and it’s unoriginal.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The thing I dislike most is that in cities that aren’t considered fashion capitals, anybody can considered themselves a designer, model, or photographer. Going to school I know that to consider yourself a designer you should have knowledge of patternmaking, concept boards, constructing, illustrating, draping, etc. Don’t get me wrong, I know it doesn’t require a degree to get into the industry, but the designers that do have all this knowledge honors their experience.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I did my first collection, I was so worried about how it would be received. Once people started to recognize it, the collection was in magazines and stylist were asking to pull my items for photo shoots. After that, I was published three times in a row and every single item from that year had been shot and majority was published.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I always have the desire to change to be better. I would most definitely love to learn more. I would like to perfect my sewing techniques.
What is my greatest achievement in work? Thus far, it’s having chief editor in chiefs of magazines reach out to me personally for projects.Each magazine has an audience in different states and the more I’m published within these magazines, the more doors will open for me.
Where would I most like to live? I would most like to live in New York, so that I can be in the top fashion capital in the United States. Even though I don’t care for the crowded city., I feel it’s mostly where my dreams can come true. In high school I dreamed of attending Parsons in New York. It’s just always been a goal.
What is my most treasured possession? The industrial juki sewing machine is my most treasured possession. It’s my baby because it gets my collections done. I believe in school I was the only student with one at home. I learned very quickly how to use it and who to contact for maintenance.
What is my most marked characteristic? Comparing myself to others get me into a lot of trouble. I mean, sometimes it’s not even worth it because, they don’t have the level of experience that I do. I feel that if I stop looking at what’s happening to others around me, I would stop worrying about rushing to start a business and appreciate my accomplishments more.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I would say right at my home. I’m inspired by music, movies, art and all of which I enjoy in my home.
What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? My favorite place to eat and drink is at Chama Gaucha, a Brazilian steakhouse restaurant. It has a calm and sophisticated ambiance.
What books influenced my life and how? To be honest I read a lot of urban fiction. In most of these books it’s a female character, that always wants the best for herself. She can never stay and be comfortable at the level that she is at.
Who are my favorite writers? Joy Deja King
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Gospel Music. Everyone fears heaven or hell as their final destination and when I’m going through something, I always resort back to what I was taught growing up. My grandmother made sure she created hope for us if we ever go through struggles. And because of our faith in God, we manage to make it through the toughest times.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Selene from the Underworld series is my heroine in fiction. She is badass and fight for the ones she loves. She is like the female James Bond, only a vampire. 
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My hero in real life has to be my grandmother. She raised me and she is a very strong woman. She motivates me to complete my goals and is my number one cheerleader. She supports me in everything I’d like to do. I thank her for everything she has done for me.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Underworld
What role does art play in my life and work? Art plays a huge role in my life. Fashion is art. It takes creativity to create something innovative and interesting. Most designers have to illustrate their ideas prior to production. And not only do I illustrate but I paint and sculpt as well.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My greatest fan is my grandmother, my greatest sponsor is my husband, and my partner in crime is my best friend Johnetta. This trio is my whole support system. I’m always getting advice from them about my designs and it’s funny because neither of them is in to fashion. My husband bought my first sewing machine.
 
Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  I would like to work with a celebrity.
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I would love to meet Anna Wintotour, Nina Garcia, Tim Gunn, and Basil Soda. I would love to meet Bernard Arnault, the fourth richest man in the world and the richest man in Europe because of fashion businesses. 
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  My collection Zip It and Color Me Pretty.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Indie Soleil Magazine, Break Magazine, The Muse Magazine, and britney-newman.format.com.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?Passion never leaves a person that is always ambitious and always want to better themselves. Even when it seems like meeting a goal is so far away, don’t give up. Even if you are turned away several times, keep pushing.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Amber Holmes
How can you contact me?
8325810855
britneynewman.business.com
britney-newman.format.com

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

