The Heroine’s Journey of Joy Lin

I am a comedian, actress, and screenwriter.
What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I love that my work allows me to induce emotions from people, which is why I love writing comedies.  The ability to make other people laugh is a beautiful power to have.
What is my idea of perfect happiness? I don’t know if perfect happiness exists because I think the journey is just as important as the destination, and journeys are rarely perfect.  Happiness can’t be fully appreciated without contrast.
What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is becoming someone a younger version of myself would hate.
What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I know I sometimes have difficulty empathizing with people if I cannot relate to the issues they are experiencing.  I wish I could be more patient with them, even if I do not understand their struggles.
Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Kevin Smith.
What is my greatest extravagance? I would say food.  I don’t have many vices.  I hate shopping for clothes, bags, shoes, you name it!  Most items in my closet are under $20, but I’ll spend tons of money on lavish dinners at fancy restaurants.
On what occasion would I lie? I am usually brutally honest just because I think it’s too much trouble to keep up with the lies.  However, when it spares someone else’s feelings or gets me out of trouble, I would occasionally lie.
What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? I think there is too much of myself in my work.  I want to venture more into a reality that is not based on mine.
When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When my work is performed and enjoyed by a group of like-minded individuals, I am the happiest.
If I could, what would I change about myself? I would make myself less socially awkward in group settings.  I can entertain small group of friends or a ballroom full of comic-con-goers, but drop me in a party with a bunch of strangers and I just want to hug the wall.  It’s difficult to be in show business without knowing how to network.
What is my greatest achievement in work? I believe my greatest achievement up til now is my science animated series, “If Superpowers Were Real” on TED.com.  This series could potentially inspire generations of future scientists while they’re still young and eventually ripple out to wonderful new inventions.  I feel like that was my greatest contribution to society.
Where would I most like to live? Austin, TX, without a doubt.
What is my most treasured possession? I am not super attached to any one item, though I do have a small collection of knives and pop-culture bobbleheads.
What is my most marked characteristic? I’m funny!  Yes, I know I’m sometimes too sarcastic, too dirty, or too honest, but at least I’ve never been called boring before.
What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Cap City Comedy Club.
What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Uchi is my favorite restaurant, though I cannot afford to go very often.  My favorite bar has got to be Russian House because they have awesome infused vodkas.
What books influenced my life and how? I grew up reading Chinese martial arts novels and history novels.  I especially enjoyed the poetry and humor in some of them them.  My writing style has definitely been influenced by these novels.
Who are my favorite writers? Most of my favorite writers are Chinese.  I rarely read in English because it feels like work a lot of times.  However, I am a big fan of the staff at Cracked.com.
You Only Die Once. What music would I listen to on my last day? Notre Dame de Paris original cast.
Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Captain Malcolm Reynolds
Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My mother, who was a professor that her students loved, feared, and respected.  She kept in contact with many of her students for decades and she has inspired so many people in her career.  Students she doesn’t even remember would write her long letters thanking her for what she did for them.  I wish I could make a difference in many people’s lives in a positive way as well.
Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? In Bruges.
Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mother has always been supportive of my decisions, even though she often doesn’t understand why I would choose the paths that I have chosen.
Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Kevin Smith!
Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Ali Wong, Margaret Cho, Stephen Lynch, and Christopher Titus.
What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  SupeReality: Science Sucks! is a pilot that I wrote.  I am looking forward to finding sponsors and shooting it.
Where can you see me or my work in 2017? A few of my short films will be released on YouTube and Vimeo.
What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion goes deeper than a temporary interest, it never goes away.
Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Christina Chen.
How can you contact me?
Joyylin@gmail.com or “Joy Lin” on Facebook

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

