The Heroine’s Journey of Masha Akkerman

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  I am a workaholic pur sang. So just the word ‘work’ makes me jump with excitement. However looking at my current projects what I love most is making people happy. Whether it is at the Very Cherry shop where I see women change in front of the mirror, feeling pretty and powerful in the dress they’ve just tried on. Or whether it’s for humanitarian aid organization where I can be a part of the voice of the most vulnerable people in this world.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Loving yourself, doing what you love, meeting new people daily.

What is my greatest fear? That one day I let bitterness into my heart.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? My loudness. I sometimes take up a bit too much space..

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Oh there’s so many! And my profession is anything from journalism to creative design to event management and PR. The women I admire most I probably do not even know by name, I follow them on social media and get inspired by their creativeness and work.

What is my greatest extravagance? Fresh flowers in my home. I would probably spend my last money on getting flowers rather than feeding myself. Flowers to me just represent the discovery of beauty in each new day.

On what occasion would I lie?  To get chicken nuggets hahaha. I don’t know, I try to be honest always. I do love to surprise people though, so if that takes a little lying, sure I’m up for it.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? This is really a love-hate thing, but sometimes I wish I could just really end a day and have finished my work. But in these times of online and social media my work just never ends. There’s always something else to share, or another fun fact to post.


When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  I’ve had many jobs within my workfield. I think I’ve succeeded not ever being unhappy in my work. That is more important to me. But I love fixing things, so I suppose I’m happiest when shit hits the fan! When all hell breaks loose, I’m your girl.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would add a bit more patience. And sometimes a bit more courage too. I tend to sometimes await my chances rather than just taking them.

What is my greatest achievement in work? I think at a pretty young age I have represented a number of great brands and truly helped them find their tone-of-voice. I love helping brands and companies get more exposure, and I guess I’m doing a good job while at it..

Where would I most like to live? I’m leaning towards Nepal. Or Jerusalem. Could be New York though. Seriously, I am a rolling stone and I’d love to live in many different places.

What is my most treasured possession? I am not really a material girl, although I love fashion and lifestyle brands. I think my diary means a lot to me, I don’t write in it much. But reading it makes me proud of how I’ve grown into the person I am today.

What is my most marked characteristic? They say I am a thoughtful person. I hope so. Sometimes I get caught up in work so much that my social skills tend to get a bit rusty. But I guess I’m still that friend that remembers your anniversary or sends you flowers when you’re sick.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Rotterdam is inspirational altogether! Just riding my bike to work makes me happy every morning, I love the people, the coffee places with hidden gardens, the bars, boutiques, rooftops, museums, parks..

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Little V serves amazing Vietnamese food. Mangiare is my fav Italian place. I order my pizza at Sugo. Lunch at Bertmans is amazing. And for lunch when I’m working I either get the best banh mi sandwiches at Boguette, or I choose healthy and go to Sajoer to get their delish Courgetti salad.

What books influenced my life and how? Books are my refuge in this life. I love to read! I’ve been inspired by so many different titles.. From Anne Franks’ diary which I read as a child to Eat Pray Love after a nasty break-up, the Bible throughout my entire life, Life of Pi, Wild, One Day, The Other Boleyn Girl,. I’m such a girl!

Who are my favorite writers? Anything Nicholas Sparks or Jon Krakauer I will read.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I love me some Leonard Cohen.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? I’ll always have a soft spot for Pippi Longstocking

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? I have some remarkable women amongst my friends who amaze, inspire and touch me with their strength and ability to love life and others despite the hardships they went through. Each and every one of them deserves a statue!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?  Into the wild was one of the movies that has inspired me in life.

What role plays art in my life and work? I have no artistic talent whatsoever, which makes me appreciate art in all its forms even more! I cannot imagine living a life not filled with music, theater, photography, poetry etc etc. Without art, where would we find comfort?

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? That would be my boyfriend David. We seem to live in our own universe most of the time, getting ourselves in all sorts of trouble, creating memories that will always make me laugh. He’s also my biggest fan, pushing me to be even better at my job but more importantly to be a better person in general. Oh, such cliché.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? There’s many creative studio’s and brands that are upcoming in Rotterdam. I would love to work with these new creatives and explore new ways of combining old and new media outlets.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Hella Huizinga, who does amazing events. Maria Tailor, who has her own fashion label. Lauren de Vries en Kim Schilte, owners of Life of Pie in Amsterdam. Marloes, owner of De Jonge Dame in Ede. Marije Broekhuijsen, who founded her own humanitarian organization. Really though, I think pretty much every woman I meet can teach me something new about my workfield.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on?  Being more focused on events, I love PR but I am ready to take on a bit more of the production as well!

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? All over the place haha, at Very Cherry in Rotterdam, Medair in Amersfoort, but also just working here and there for any brand that’s in need of extra branding power.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me?  It just means that passion drives me in everything I do. Work is never merely work, work is just an awesome way to do what I love and use my passion and talents in service of others.


Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? ALL OF THEM! Invite the moms, the teachers, the politicians, the students, the founders.. I want to hear it all!

How can you contact me?

Shoot me an email @ Mashaakkerman@hotmail.com

Or follow my slightly chaotic and not so pretty insta-feed @mashasuzanne

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

