The Heroine’s Journey of Rhonda Burnette

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I love being able to escape myself, even just momentarily. Escaping things like anxiety and dyslexia through becoming a character. It is nice to be able get away from my minor insecurities and conquer them.  Also being able to help other aspiring actors,because I can see the wonderment behind this wonderful craft and how it can inspire others. Following your passion is so very important and if we don’t follow our own aspirations, no one else will for us. That is why I thrive to make sure others can grasp their fullest potential.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Doing what you love.Life is short and we need to live every minute to its fullest. If you are not doing what you love, or at the least attempting to obtain it, then you are not living the life you deserve.  We all deserve that moment to, sit, look around, and say, this is why I was born. We are put here in this life to do more than many of us attempt to achieve.  What makes me happy is knowing I am building my own happiness, my own happy ending.

What is my greatest fear? While I do push myself ever so much to go for it all, failing always lays as a deep fear I do not openly discuss.  What if I look back and see I didn’t achieve what I set out to do.  Also, with failure, lingers the fear of disapointing others. What if I am unable to live up to their expectations. I know, no one is perfect, though many put on a grand illusion that they are. Illusions are admired, but what if my illusion is to myself.  But, those are fears, and fears are meant to be overcome.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? I know I shouldn’t, but I deplore how observant I am; my ability to pick apart things. It is odd, but feel I do not give opportunity to situations or maybe too skeptical. I would never consider myself judgmental, but my eagerness gets ran over by my observations.  No, I do not think there is anything wrong with being skeptical occasionally, but being too observant, can take away from a wonderful spontaneous moment.  I am working on this more and more, and even have a tattoo that says, “Don’t think. Just jump.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? The late David Bowie, though he has passed, left the most memorable impression on my life. I read his quotes near daily, to remind myself of who I long to be. He was everything I hope to achieve.  Vin Diesel would be next, because of his faith. I admire how open he is about it.  Then lastly, Johnny Deep because of his range as an actor. He can disappear as am actor into a character, something I aspire for, as I described earlier.

What is my greatest extravagance? I really don’t live a life of extravagance. In fact I see myself as a very quaint and simple woman with little need for grandeur. That is not why I do this business in the slightest. However- my one simple extravagance, would fall more under a hobby.  I collect Pops. No, not different sodas, as they called in other states.  Pops are little figurines of characters from movies, cartoons, comics and so forth.  I love them! Ha! Its kind of an addiction! (My producer condones this too much and always has some in waiting when I visit.) It is a habit and I can supply a list to anyone who would like to know about which ones I still need!

On what occasion would I lie? Isn’t being an actor or a writer being a professional liar?  I kid. In honesty I would to protect those around me. If it came someone I loved, I would lie if I knew it would help them.  And that means in many forms.  I would lie to make someone feel better, build their confidence, or make them feel special. I would lie to protect a family member or the reputation of a dear friend. I know, lying is shunned and looked down upon.  But, it is also our place to love and express, and if a lie will save a loved one or someone you care for, than I ask what would YOU lie for?
Small lies for good reasons never hurt anyone.  But little lies for wrong reasons could hurt everyone.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? While we tend to support one another the trash talking in this business gets bad. The put downs and not the building of others. One thing I love about my group is we tend to find the “underdogs” and do what we can to build mold them up to par.  I personally feel, there is plenty of room for us all to improve! Why tear down what we can make better?

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I would say, the happiest I was in my work, was when I was just starting to figure it out. When working on a film called, Libra. Other than being a Libra, I was able to follow the script with the writer/director as it was being written. The story was dark but meaningful, about a girl who watches from a far as her best friend losses her grip on her own life to a destructive boy friend. It was a challenge to hold animosity towards people and stand by and not express what I would say if it were me and not the character.  It was a turning point in my career, as I took to writing and creating more.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Not to sound arrogant, frankly I would not change anything. No, I am not saying I am perfect and flawless.  But, I don’t think people need to be in this work if they see themselves as perfect.  I think the thing to change most about oneself is their attitude and how they see themselves in this business. I have worked with an actor in “When You Pray For Rain” whom was so insecure about himself, but wanted to act so badly, he pushed even harder.  I think that is what I love most about what I do.  It’s not wanting to change anything, and still proving I can achieve what I want.  I feel, more actors need to take this approach.  Anyone can be pretty face, but few can be great in all ways.  With that, add Jennifer Lawrence to my list of role models.

What is my greatest achievement in work? Touching the lives of others is the greatest achievement of my work! With the honor of hosting two film festivals, we will be able to enrich the lives of others and give them opportunity we have been given.  Also, with my work reaching others this coming year in festivals around the country (perhaps world) I feel my roles will be able to touch others. It is what I want most.  It is not extravagance and fame.  I want to do what I love most, while touching others lives.

Where would I most like to live? For as long as I can remember, Japan has been my obsession. I could spend hours telling anyone about it.  I cannot say I am fluent in Japanese, but I can say I have studied. I love the culture and the people. I love everything about Japan! So, if I HAD to pick one place, Japan.

What is my most treasured possession? To describe my most treasured possession may bring me to tears.  Not because of what it is, or even who it belonged to, but because of what I was to the owner.  To my grandfather, I was HIS most valued treasure.  I lost him some time ago, though it feels so recent. I miss him dearly, and hope he is watching all I achieve, and will achieve. I know I have people who will make sure I do, at all cost, but I wished he could be there, to clap louder than all others.  The thing I hold the most dear would be my grandfathers mason ring, because while I have not his hand to hold, I have the item he wore on his. It is my greatest treasure, only because I was his.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am that person, that can look you in the eye, and say something innocently kidding, and one may questions if I were.  My marked characteristic I would say would be my sharp wit. Some would say cynical or sarcastic, it is part of who I am.  The ones closest to me know where I am in my humor, and some take time to get used to it. Regardless, it is by far a trademark Rhondaism.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? I am kind of a homebody, so my inspirational place, I would say, is my house. I know, a lot of artist pick gardens and bridges to write or create the next generation of a great opus! Nope. I am pretty comfortable in my pajamas, on my sofa, watching Netflix, then getting on my laptop and working.  After all, home is where the kitchen is. Kitchen has snacks that are already paid for! (Told you I was simple!)

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Speaking of snacks, my favourite place in place in my city to eat would be, Wings N’ More. Though i love food!  Food is just as much of hobby as Pops!  I am somewhat of a picky eater, so do not get me started on cheese!  But, if I had to pick a place to eat, Wings N’ More curbs my craving perfectly!

What books influenced my life and how? I read a lot, and I could list books for days!  But I think the tribute goes to, “Oh the places you will go” by dr. Seuss.  Do not think of my taste in fine literature to be immature! This book is where my literary life began, and I feel we often forget these small accomplishments!  If it were not for this book, I wouldn’t have become the well-read woman before you now!

Who are my favorite writers? I really dislike picking favorite writers.  As I stated, I read a lot!  But, I would like to state, I read hundreds of “Independent Writers” yearly.  I am captivated by fan-fiction, and I am aware of the fact it is not considered by many “real literature,” but it is art all the same! Many of these writers give you full stories, with amazing detail!

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? David Bowie, and there is not second guess to it!  It would be perfect in so many ways.  A bittersweet, cathartic moment as I reflect back on my life.  The music would take me to my childhood, and memories of my mother and father.  Then into my school years with my beloved friends, that one of which I would still give my life for.  Then onward into the present, and the years to come.  Then lastly, it would be just the perfect final note, as I lay there, holding the hand of my beloved, and mouth the words, almost singing along- not being able to keep up with my youthful performance in my head I can see, when I say, “It’s only forever, and that’s not long at all…”

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Itachi Uchiha from Naruto is probably one the most well established characters!  From his torn past, he eagerly struggles with in himself, and his new life and friends with his vendetta of his old life.  He is noble and brave and often sees his own faults.  He knows his potential and aspires to achieve it, something anyone could admire. And he is also voiced by Crispen Freeman, and that’s pretty nice too! Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? The heroes in real life are all around us.  They come in many forms, and all hold various occupations! They are mothers and fathers trying to do right by their families. They are cops, firefighters, paramedics who place themselves in harm way to save us. They artists struggling with themselves to capture a moment.  They are people who take time for others to make them feel important. They are everywhere.  As David Bowie said, “We can be heroes. Just for one day.” Now do you understand the song?

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? are you beginning to see a theme here?  In my opinion, more enchanting than the Wizard of Oz, Labyrinth tells the tale of a young girl, trying to correct a wrong, while trying to find that adventure she had been longing for!  The effects are amazing and have stood the test of time.  And the the acting is spellbinding!  By far Labyrinth is a must see!

What role plays art in my life and work? Art can come in a variety of forms and I have a vast taste in it.  I personally believe literature is an art to allow you to escape for hours or days.  If you do not have that kind of time, characters can leap from the page to a screen in another form of storytelling, film and television!  A story is a story regardless of medium it is delivered.  Then of course there are paintings, sculptures and such. I do enjoy my share,  but as former theater kid, nothing beats a good stage performance, big or small!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mother- as a fan, she supports, promotes and brags and boasts on me in public and social media! She creates collages of my work and photos. No matter how small the role, or what, she loves it.  She has cried watching my work. She has laughed and driven me if needed. As a sponsor, she’s given me gas money and hugs when I needed it- lots of hug were needed from time to time.  As my partner in crime, there’s no one else in the world I can imagine doing for me as she has and will.  If she’s not my partner in crime, I will always be hers.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Um, well David Bowie has passed away, so I would say, Vin diesel or someone important.  I know it’s aiming big, but I think, “why not!?”  There many talents out there and I long to work with as many as possible. From A list to C list, I wish everyone the best and look forward to meet them as both a colleague and fan.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? By far, Johnny Depp and Kate Winslet I would love to meet them, even for a moment. If could tell them anything would be just thank you for inspiring me!  They are why I long to inspire others!  From Depps variety of memorable roles, to the small quirks Winslet brought to the table, to her small, whimper for “help” in Titanic. Meeting either of them would change my life!

What project, in 2017,  am I looking forward to work on?  We have several in development now.  We are contributing to “Ted Bandy Had A Son” and it is going to be an intense time period piece and very emotional!  Speaking of time period pieces I get to showoff my talent for accents in the film “The Sculpture.” Then back to the present, where I get to play a tough skinned, bad attitude cop in a pilot I Co-created called, “Booked.” I stay excited for anything I am privileged to be part of.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? You can catch me in select theaters in the short, “When You Pray For Rain” making it’s way around film festivals soon.  You can also see me at The Geekiest Film Festival in Killeen Texas August 18-20 as we are the company hosting the event. We have a lot of projects and events happening all while I pursue my acting and writing! I like staying booked and busy.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? “Passion Never Retires” means when you love what you do, there is no ending. Some things in this world is infinite and you never give up on what you love and give everything you are to.  I believe that we all have the right to look back at our lives and see we did our best, we went for it all- win or lose!  I may not be the best example of one to ask such things from, or for advice on life.  I do believe however fear is overrated and passion is forever, so, don’t think, just jump. When you pursue your true passion, you only have from now until forever, and forever, that’s not long at all.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Rebecca Lynn Garrett and Kendahl Cooper

How can you contact me? Through my facebook page https://m.facebook.com/OfficialRhondaBurnette/?ref=bookmarks

Or through email rhonda.burnette95@yahoo.com

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

