The Heroine’s Journey of Irina Skripnik

What is the best thing that I love about my work? The best thing is communication with people. I am photographer and I tell stories, single moment stories. I have only one moment to show the story of a person I met half an hour ago. So communication is the best and most interesting thing in my work.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? I think my answer will be standard. For me happiness is the strong health for my family and me, peace and happiness in my country and one million dollars on my bank account ))))

What is my greatest fear? My greatest fear is losing someone, someone who is close to me, someone who is my family. They are the reason I live for.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Periods of time when my inspiration goes away and I can’t do my job.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? There are many photographers that I love, follow and get my inspiration. But the most interesting for me is Annie Leibovitz. She could reach the level of popularity that I wish. So, she is the best.

What is my greatest extravagance? Bags, shoes and photography lenses.

On what occasion would I lie? On occasions when lie is the best solution. For example, sometimes there are people on my weddings that can tell the bride that she has terrible hairs or make up. They are honest, but it sounds terrible!!! Can you imagine what a great inspiration my bride has after these words? So a bit of a lie sometimes can be helpful.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? There are few things. First is the hard staff to carry, many bags, cameras lenses and so on. Second will be flights, I afraid of planes. Third, when people say – Oh, these details on the background are doesn’t matter, you will get rid of them in photoshop, and by the way I want RAW files.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I even remember the date, 18th of May 2016. I and my husband were on our Europe photo tour and we were going from Prague to Salzburg. We decided to come to Hallstadt (Austria) for a few hours. It is an amazing place. Austrian alps, mountain lake, tinny beautiful houses. We were sitting near the lake, eating our sandwiches, talking about future plans, and then I decided that I want to dance, and I started to dance on a green fresh grass without shoes, the sun was gently shining on my skin and my husband was laughing! It was amazing!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I love the way I am. And I don’t want to change anything about myself.

What is my greatest achievement in work? It has not happened yet! But soon it will! And one more thing, some of my clients became my best friends, I think it is very important.

Where would I most like to live? On my motherland, ODESSA, Ukraine!!! But also I love Vienna, Zurich, Baden Baden.

What is my most treasured possession? My family! Other things doesn’t matter to me.

What is my most marked characteristic? Friendliness and responsiveness. Everybody loves me!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Kitchen in my apartment. All my project ideas are born there!

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? My bedroom, on my bed, watching some tv series or movies.

What books influenced my life and how? All books about Angelique, Three Musketeers, Robinson Crusoe.

Who are my favorite writers? Anne et Serge Golon, Alexander Pushkin, J.R.R. Tolkien.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? “Dirty dancing” movie soundtrack.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? My favorite heroine is Scarlett O’Hara, because she was pretty young, and at the same time very strong and there was nothing that could break her down, even death and war! My favorite hero is John Snow :))) Yes, John Snow. He sacrificed his desires and life for the protection of ordinary people, he is very brave and courageous and does not afraid to take very difficult decisions 🙂

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My hero in real life is my husband! He loves me and accepts me the way I am! He is very intelligent and has many talents, and every time I think of him I understand how lucky I am.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Dirty dancing, Angelique – marquise des anges, Love and pigeons.

What role plays art in my life and work? It plays all roles. I am an artist!

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My husband, again! All the things we do, we do them together. We are partners, sponsors, lovers and companions.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? Brad Pitt, Keanu Reeves, Antonio Banderas, Monica Bellucci, Britney Spears, Queens of the stone age, The Prodigy, and many many other celebrities.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Annie Leibovitz, Rarindra Prakarsa, Steve McCurry, Von Wong

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I have an idea to organize 50 art sessions, some of them I will shoot around the world. And I want to make my YouTube channel more popular.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Follow my site, facebook, instagram and youtube. Also I will travel to USA, Europe and probably China in 2017. So you always can write to me and meet me somewhere around the world. Also my works will participate in WPPI 20×16 print competition in Las Vegas from 5th to 9th of February 2017.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Nothing. I will think about it when I will be 90 years old.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Fabrizia Costa, Gwen Mc Guirk, Svetlana Sharapova.

How can you contact me?

I am always open for new friends, contacts and business relations. I love to meet new people, so you are always welcome. Just write in google Irina Skripnik and you will find me. Here are my main links, my site http://www.skripnik.net, my facebook https://www.facebook.com/skripnikdp and https://www.facebook.com/skripnikphoto/, instagram https://www.instagram.com/skripnikphoto/, and youtube https://www.youtube.com/user/skripnikphoto.

Some links to my videos

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Et8ibzq-3e8

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lebJyWinms

https://vimeo.com/144544212

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nRFvvR6oWgU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04DLKf79SHw

https://vimeo.com/112094629

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

