The Heroine’s Journey of Adele Pocci

What is the best thing that I love about my work? I’m a librarian at Museo Galileo in Florence one of the foremost international institutions in the history of science, combining a renowned museum of scientific instruments and an institute dedicated to the research, documentation and dissemination of the history of science. I love my job because it is not just a job. It’s a passion. I thoroughly enjoy coming in every day and love every moment of it. It’s my home away from home.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Happiness is the joy of living in the present accepting all that it entails. If we stay positive, we’ll feel better and attract good things.

What is my greatest fear? The loss of my family.

What is the trait that I must deplore in myself? I am too emotional.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? I admire people who are passionate and who stand up for what they believe.

What is my greatest extravagance? Shoes and purses.

On what occasion would I lie? I could lie to avoid hurting someone’s feelings. There are little lies that do not hurt anybody and can avoid people from arguing.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? Nothing really… it’s the perfect job where I can use my talents.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? There is not one specific moment. Every time I successfully complete a research task, possibly.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would probably get rid of my laziness.

What is my greatest achievement in work? It has yet to come.

Where would I most like to live? Lisbon.

What is my most treasured possession? My family.

What is my most marked characteristic? Diplomacy.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? The Oltrarno, an area in Florence which mixes art with incredible landscaping and impressive views.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? Trattorias in the San Niccolò district where it is possible to taste an excellent typical Florentine cuisine: Osteria antica mescita San Niccolò, Enoteca fuori porta and Beppa fioraia next to Piazzale Michelangelo.

What books influenced my life and how? There are a number of books which have inspired me to look inside myself, the books of Jung, Castaneda, Naranjo, Nietzsche, Jodorowsky, Gurdjieff.

Who are my favorite writers? Jung, Castaneda, Naranjo, Nietzsche, Jodorowsky, Gurdjieff.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Casta diva from Vincenzo Bellini’s Norma

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Holly Golightly from Breakfast at Tiffany

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? Alejandro Jodorowsky, my grandmother Lala

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Barry Lyndon

What role plays art in my life and work? Art is essential in my life. Art is fundamental in expressing my spirituality. I’m also an actress in a theater company in Florence.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My family and friends.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? With a colleague from another institution.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Creative people.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I hope to start the collaboration with other institutions to create cooperation between libraries, archives and museums.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? Online.

https://www.facebook.com/

https://www.instagram.com/

https://www.academia.edu/

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that you must follow your passion to have a satisfying life. Life is not worth living without passion.

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

