The Heroine’s Journey of Caterina Paolinelli

What is the best thing that I love about my work? What I love much more about my job is the relationship with the spectators. The particular feeling that is being created and that each time is different.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  I think “perfect happiness” is an oxymoron because nothing that can be defined perfect can be happy at the same time. For me the best happiness is be confident with themselves, also when we hate or think we have done or said something wrong.

What is my greatest fear? Die without being mother.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I am very impatient, but I’m working on it!

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? I admire Elena Bucci: she’s a very really good actress. And I also admire very much all those of my colleagues, some really talented and poetry, which despite having hunger and are not recognized, but they go along.

What is my greatest extravagance? I don’t believe that I have a big extravagance… let me think… maybe when I talk alone as I walk on the street, it helps me to clear my mind to walk and talk to myself out loud and sometimes I pretend to be on the phone.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? It would be obvious to say the obvious one? So I will say I do not like the rehearsal rooms without heating and built-in shows.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? In that period I’m in tour with HURRICANE which is my first show as an actress and author. I’m alone on stage and is almost autobiographical. It ‘a very powerful experience. Beautiful!

If I could, what would I change about myself? Oh absolutely my butt!

What is my greatest achievement in work? There are many years that I dream and hope to act in a movie with a good role and with a very important and wise director.

Where would I most like to live?  I love life here, in Milano, but if I’ll do change, maybe in United States. But I see myself as a very european person… for culture, history and deep beliefs.

What is my most treasured possession?  I’m buddist, for seven years and I discovered in that time that the most treasure in life is our heart. Our heart can do miracles, can change the heart of others and also can grow up and hosting really so much people inside.

What is my most marked characteristic? I am very bright, flashy. Once a person has defined me as a Louis XVI furniture in a minimalist home.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city?  Near the house where I grew up, in Tuscany, there is a small wood. When I need to know something or I’m very very sad, I go for a walk there and at some point of the grove there are two footpaths that separate and in between there is a large stone. I sit there and I listen and when I feel that I’m ready, I come back home.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? There’s a place in Milano that is called “GhePensiM.I.” is very nice. You can talk with everybody there, drink very good beer and eat some very delicious sandwiches. Also sometimes I spend time inside the Feltrinelli’s Caffetteria because I love so much drink something with a lot of books around me.

What books influenced my life and how? So much and for very diffent reasons. “The human Revolution” for instance is the story of my mentor in Buddism religion, then for me is very important know him and read his teachings. Also it very important for me “The artist’s way” by Julia Cameron, and now I’m reading a very interesting book that’s written by a psychologist Jean Bolen and the title is “Goddesses in everywoman”. These books are useful for me to grow spiritually. There are also some novels that I’ve loved soooooo much: The young Holden (J.D. Salinger), The Great Gatsby (F.S. Fitzgerald), American Pastoral P. Roth), The call of the wild (J. London), For whom the bell tolls (H. Hemingway). And… Shakespeare, Pinter, Moliere, Goldoni, Williams… The Theater in fact! And the poetry: Dylan Thomas, Emily Dickinson, Walt Withman.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Bob Dylan and The Beatles.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?  The Dude (The Great Lebowsky).

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My Mentor: Daisaku Ikeda.

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?  The Great Lebowsky! But also: Dirty Dancing, The Tree of life, Fight Club, Memento, Blade Runner, Gone away with wind, Some like it hot, and… a lot of others!!!

What role plays art in my life and work? I consider myself an artist. Not specifically actress in a strict sense, but just a person who receives and mixes the languages, not necessarily formalizing each of them in its concrete form, but surely they constantly nourished me by every expression of art. Each of my five senses is drinking at the source of one of the arts and the theater is for me the union of all more the sense that it is intuition and gives me the opportunity to act out my dream world.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  In crime? Which one? 😉 all my family support me with love and confidence.

Whom would I like to work with in 2017?  For me 2017 is the HURRICANE’s year. I want tour soooo much and so long with my show. And I hope also play in a movie.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? Paolo Virzì, Luca Guadagnino, Paolo Sorrentino, Antonio Latella, Gabriele Vaci, Elena Bucci, Veronica Cruciani, Cristina Comencini, Roan Johnson and also somebody who I still don’t know and who surprises me!

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? The answer is HURRICANE yet (sorry!)

Where can you see me or my work in 2017?  In Milano 3, 4 march and in Rome 11 march and after… now I don’t know, but when I’ll know, I tell you for sure!

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Mean that if you finish your passion, your art is finish. Because that kind of life is very hard to do. We are very alone and eveytime under judgment… then the passion is the engine for go on.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Maybe you can contact Cristina Pancini, she’s a painter or Cristina Puccinelli, she’s a director.

How can you contact me?

You can contact me in my facebook page and also with my mail: caterina.paolinelli@gmail.com or in instagram or in twitter or on my blog: http://caterinapaolinelli.wordpress.com

Message of the founder of The Heroine’s Journey Project Peter de Kuster

When you want to support The Heroine’s Journey project buy here one of my books about The Heroine’s Journey.   

You can buy Peter’s Books here 

Leave a Reply

