The Heroine’s Journey of Starla E Rose

I’m a Costume Designer, Embroidery Artist and Occasional Model from Belgium I like to interact and corporate with artists Worldwide. Meanwhile I’m also the organiser of “La Danza Della Luna”, a grandiose costumed ball bringing different artists together giving the possibility to promote and share their arts and creations which takes place at the Castle of Zwijnaarde in Belgium.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? Because it brings me in touch with the whole creation making me sip the endless sources of inspiration and letting me express beauty all over and over again. I’m enjoying every moment of creating as I know it contributes to a change! When I design a new piece of garment or jewelry, imagined as in my mind, I have the fullest satisfaction beyond words. For me the joy of creating is as much divine as falling in Love.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Perfect happiness is available to us all, always and everywhere. And since a couple of years I have learned how to allow it in my life. Let’s say I’m not annoyed anymore when it rains as I love to watch the raindrops dance on the ground forming circles and emerging with each other. It’s a matter of choice indeed.

What is my greatest fear? Well, as a lady, I do have my usual fears like for spiders 🙂 But again I do know the golden rule that fear of something will only make it stronger so I try to remember that each time I see a spider and finally there are so many people who don’t fear spiders so I want to become one of them.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  I wish I was been a bit less stubborn… to myself . I’m kind of a striver to realize my projects and ideas.

Which living persons in my profession do I most admire? Michele Carregher, the amazing embroidery artist / costume maker for the television show “The Game of Thrones”. Her creations inspire me so much and I’m so grateful to have made her acquaintances on Facebook; she never misses to wish me a Happy Birthday! Here is her webpage: http://michelecarragherembroidery.com

What is my greatest extravagance? I know that I’m a very fortunate person and even if something doesn’t go as planned things just get arranged to get my good. Don’t ask me how or why because I don’t know but I do know that as long as I keep sincere and loving to myself as much as to others, all gets arranged as I want to 😉

On what occasion would I lie? When you are helping a friend trying to accomplish the work of his life, while you know he’ll get it done but somehow he loses motivation near to final, I would do anything to support him, to reach his aim, to fulfill his dreams. In my eyes this isn’t a lie, I see it more as a sacrifice.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The envious. I just don’t understand why people who are blessed with talents one by one, can fall so low to envy each other just to satisfy their ego. If they used the time wasted on envy to discover and train their talents, they will make chance to be an inspiration for so many others!

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? I’m always in the highest spheres of happiness when I’m creating! The best way I love to create is to make pieces on “free of description” which means my customer tells me a certain theme where the piece must be inspired on and let me create it my own way. That’s where the inspiration reaches its highest point and my customers are always happy!

If I could, what would I change about myself? I think that destiny will change me according to the flow of life. When it’s meant to happen, it will happen anyway but meanwhile it’s important to follow your intuition and your heart. I think it’s very vital to keep up your intentions and keep working, training and always striving to get to be better in your work! That’s where all begins to roll. Don’t bother yourself on what others do! Concentrate yourself on what you do, WHAT YOU WANT TO DO and a finally… DO IT!!!!!!!

What is my greatest achievement in work? In 2010, I was been selected to represent my country Belgium in the finals of a mayor costume making competition in London. It took me months of work to make my costume and I was so happy to show my costume. I didn’t even care to win a prize as long as I could show my costume. Next to that my creations are been featured in different online media as on publications and television. The one thing that will always stay in my mind is that day when I got featured in the “Weekend Magazine” the same day my father had passed away. Between my mourning, I had this one moment I could feel how proud he was of me…

Where would I most like to live? My first rule is, “my home is there where my heart is”, but if I really have to choose for myself, then I would like to live in Venice, Italy. As this city inspires me so much on artistic level. My other option would be, Bremen in Germany. One of my aunts live there and I just fell in love with the buildings,the cosy little streets and the parks. Plus German food is just jummmmyyyyy

What is my most treasured possession? My ability to create, my health, my family and friends… the rest can be obtained over and over again.

What is my most marked characteristic? I have been told many times that I’m very kind, talented and have a patience of an Angel. The only unfortunate thing is that some people confuse my kind nature with foolishness and try to take advantage on their behalf till they use up my trust and hit “the wall”. That’s something I utterly disgust. And as much as I can I shall always help people inspiring and supporting but the least I expect is to have respect and this not only for myself but also for the people around them.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Definitely the majestic ballrooms of the Ghent Opera House. Once build with the support of the richest industrialists and designed by the famous Belgian architect Louis Roelandt, is one of the most best preserved historical buildings in my city. I was lucky enough to enter the ballrooms a couple of times and I hope one day I would be able to hold an event there. Just inviting so many people to enjoy the mystery and splendour of the magnificence! Here is a site which gives a small glimpse of the building: https://visit.gent.be/en/opera-gent?context=tourist

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? One of the places I love to have a small brunch or a quick coffee with desert is “Het Pakhuis” in the City Center of Ghent. I just adore the infrastructure and the atmosphere of the building. The menu has a good variation because mostly I love to eat vegetarian. Another great place is to have a brunch is the Castle of Zwijnaarde with their excellent gastronomic service and friendly crew. Often I sit at the same place at the window overlooking the pond surrounded by their lovely park. Let’s say that both places offer good nutrition for the body as well as for the mind.

What books influenced my life and how? When my father passed away 4 years ago, I have discovered “The Power of the Now” and “Stillness Speaks” of Eckhart Tolle. From that moment on I have read all his books and followed his teachings online which gave me great insight in life. When I was a kid, I liked to read “Alice in Wonderland”, and make up my own small version of stories around the characters, which gave me a huge boost to my imagination and my creative faculty.

Who are my favorite writers? From the classical writers I love Herman Melville the author of “Moby Dick” There is so much depth in that book, one of the quotes in the book which I love and always have carried with me for years is “Ignorance is the parent of fear.”
I also love to read inspirational non-fiction works like from Pablo Coelho, Florence Scovel Shinn or the famous essays of Ralph Waldo Emerson. It’s important for me that I take a moment to think about the true meaning of the sentences and gently pour it down to my consciousness.

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? When I was a child, I adored watching Batman. He was very special to me because he was a normal human being without superpowers still being so strong to fight for Justice. As for Heroine, I would always choose Wonder Woman because she was so loyal to her values and family.

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? My family, friends, colleagues, customers and just everyone who inspire and supports my works. I cannot point a specific person as everyone I have ever met has contributed to the person I have become today. How unimportant it may seem but even a complete stranger I have met during an exhibition or someone who broke my heart so severely, has finally touched me so deep that I had altered my opinion on certain matters in my life.

Which movie would I recommend to see once in a lifetime? “Orlando” of Tilda Swinton. I adored the concept of the movie where the soul returns in so many forms … male or female, it’s just the same. I also love this movie for the costumes and the so many amazing locations who really express a state of peace with an underlying suspense.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? I think I won’t listen to anything but the stillness and the satisfaction of my mind. To be happy to had the chance to inspire so many people and had made the difference.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? The King of the Moon 😉

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? A great artist and a friend of mine who I admire, is the costume designer Elena Werner. She was so kind enough to accept to be my Guest of Honor at our La Danza Della Luna event. It would be my highest pleasure to work together to a costume project with her. http://elenagwerner.wixsite.com/costume-design

Which people in my profession would I love to meet in 2017? Many great artists I look up to such as the designer and photographer Pierre Leszczyk also known under the name Empire Art Couture. http://www.pierre-leszczyk.com/. And ofcourse Michel Carregher, just to express her my adoration for her work and let her know how much she inspires me. http://michelecarragherembroidery.com/

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? I’m organizing “La Danza Della Luna” which shall take place on the 20th of May 2017 at the Castle of Zwijnaarde in Ghent – Belgium. It is a grandiose costumed ball bringing different artists together giving the possibility to promote and share their arts and creations. Enjoying a nice evening together broadening our horizons for future corporations and projects meanwhile enjoying a luxury dinner mixed with exquisite music. More information about the event can be found on: www.danzadellaluna.com

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? There is a lot to come for 2017 but recently one of my head dress pieces got featured in the Surreal Beauty Magazine (pages 94 – 95). You can purchase the magazine here: http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/1222990
I shall also exhibit some of my works at “La Danza Della Luna” on the 20th of May 2017.
Next to that you can always review my creations on the links below.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is born from creation and therefore as long as creation keeps going, and we creators keep creating… Our passion and the passion of many others will never retire.

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story?
Fuchsia Carter – Model and Seamstress
because she is a TRUE Heroine!

How can you contact me?
Event’s page: www.danzadellaluna.com
Event’s facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/1592830640732130??ti=ia
My facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/emmalynerosecouture/
My Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emmalyne.rose/
My twitter: https://twitter.com/emmalynerose
My email: info@emmalynerose.com

Leave a Reply

