The Heroine’s Journey of Vanessa Virag

I am a designer and an artist agent living and working in Paris.

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In both I really like connecting with people, understand their needs and see how I can help.As a designer, what I really like is to built a project from scratch and witness it become alive. At the beginning it is just the vision you have, then it becomes more concrete when you start drawing but the magic happens when the construction starts and the floor plans become real. And it is always a pleasure to see the satisfaction in your clients eyes when the project is over.As an agent, I work with 4 artists on a regular basis. It is all about listening, understanding, building trust and find the best way to present their work and eventually sell it.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Every summer for the last 12 years I spend a month in Formentera (Balearics Island, Spain) with my loved ones and my friends. That s enough to make me perfectly happy, and even though I have been going for ever, every time I have to live the island I cry on the boat!

What is my greatest fear? My God I have many fears …

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? …. having to many fears 🙂

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire?  Artists who Eats Breathe Sleep Art and People who are genuine and generous.

What is my greatest extravagance? I want it all and to actually think i can get it all 🙂

On what occasion would I lie? I try not to, but to protect people I love I guess.

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The Art World tends to be very competitive. There is a lot of envy and jealousy between people. I really try to stay away from that environnement and surround myself with well intentioned and genuine people.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? Every new project makes me really happy.

If I could, what would I change about myself? I would change nothing about my true self but I would try to improve some of my behaviors; for exemple I have very little patience 🙂

What is my greatest achievement in work? 2016 was a big year for me. I designed a 300 m2 restaurant in Le Havre (La Colombe Niemeyer) in the beautiful Cultural Center built by Brazilian architect Oscar Niemeyer. And i also organized an important group show with 5 artists I currently work with, for which I took a lot of risk, and that happened to be a great success. I am kind of proud of it because I worked very hard for both projects!

What is my greatest achievement outside my work? ABC Autisme, the foundation and school i created 10 years ago for children with autism. I created the school for my son when we moved back to Paris after 10 years in the States. At the time, the only choice i was offered was to put him in the psychiatric hospital. I wanted to be able to offer to children like my son a real school environment where the could evolve, learn and feel good like any other children. Here is a small movie that sum up pretty well our journey thru autism and the work that my wonderful team accomplish at school. 

Where would I most like to live? Somewhere warm all year long and possibly next to the ocean.

What is my most treasured possession? My son, even though i do not own him 😉

What is my most marked characteristic? Bashing on!

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? So many places in Paris are inspirational but I really love my appartement which I purchased 3 years ago and totally renovated. The main room has a beautiful view with the sun rising right in front of my windows. It gives me a lot of good energy and inspiration.

What is my favorite place to eat and drink, in my city? Same, so many places in Paris. So let’s say that at the present time I like to hang out at The Grand Hotel Amour rue de Paradis in 10th arrondissement. Otherwise i have always been very found of “La Closerie des Lilas” where I go since I was a child.

What books influenced my life and how? I am a reader. I have always been reading as far I can remember. My first life changing experience with reading, was with Russian writers; Dostojevski, Tolstoi, Tchekhov, l read it all … Lately I am traveling a lot for my work so I try to read 1 book a week while commuting. Recently I have been very impressed with “Chanson Douce” written by Leila Slimani, winner of the Prix Gouncourt.

Who are my favorite writers? Too many to say but I am very found of American writers; Henry Miller, Jim Harrison, Hubert Selby Jr, DonDellilo, Jay McInerney … they have a unique way of telling stories.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Mozart!

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? As a mother of an autistic child, all the other mothers that fight for their children health, and by extension all women in general that make it all happen; work life, motherhood, love life and managed to be not totally exhausted at the end of the year !

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? « Schindler’s List »

What role plays art in my life and work? « If i could say it in words there would be no reason to paint » Edward Hopper 🙂

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My lovely sister Penelope, all my amazing crazy talented girlfriends (they will recognized themselves) and the man i share my live with !

Whom would I like to work with in 2017? I can think of two artists i would really like to collaborate with but i will have to keep it for myself right now, work in progress ;°

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2017? I am totally open but i would really like to go on designing restaurants. So anyone in the business feel free to contact me.

What project, in 2017, am I looking forward to work on? « Still Life » which is the name of the new exhibition I am working on. A group show that I am organizing  in Paris in a few months with 4 very talented artists i represent; Annina Roescheisen, Virginie Caillet, Artiste Ouvrier and Pierre Ziegler. I am also finishing the design of a new Restaurant/Take away/Grocery store, CRAIE located in the 2nd arrondissement in Paris and due to open in March.

Where can you see me or my work in 2017? I invite you to visit my website www.vanessavirag.com

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Do it with passion or not at all!

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Annina Roescheisen, an amazing woman and multi media artist whom I have been working with for the last 2 years.

How can you contact me?

vanessvirag.artdesign@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

